We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch - fish of the day and fish & chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carey's Bay Historic Hotel

Carey's Bay Historic Hotel
17 MacAndrew Road | Carey's Bay, Dunedin, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 214 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch - fish of the day and fish & chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very much enjoyed our fish dishes as usual. Every time we come here we enjoy the food, the hotel and the sea view which is across the road.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“CAREY'S BAY HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Atmosphere on a scale of 1-10 -= 10.

Wedges with sour cream and chilli sauce - absolutely the best I have ever had.

Fish pie - absolutely the best too.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

I'm not sure if they do deliveries but I wouldn't think so.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on Sunday following All Blacks game. Rang and booked table, however only told on arrival no shellfish as had sold out as they had been so busy (the reason we had traveled there as highlighted on reviews). Ordered pork belly, lamb rack and salmon instead, restaurant approx half full. Waited an hour for food, no mention of reason for delay, not offered any further drinks after our first ones had finished. Pork belly dry and tough, salmon overcooked, lamb rack arrived ten minutes after other mains, all plates had same veges cold carrots, oversteamed broccoli and cauliflower, plates cold. No waiting service at all, plates still on table, no sign of being cleared, so we decided to leave. Not asked at all how food was. Toilets dirty and no toilet paper holder. All in all terrible experience, particularly for the price. Place is currently for sale, looks like the owners have checked out already.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had lunch here yesterday, i had the platter and my sister had fisherman basket. We both loved what we had. the platter had so much different stuff it it was great. We will be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for seafood in greater Dunedin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This attractively restored historic hotel on Carey's Bay, Port Chalmers, 10 minutes from downtown Dunedin is located on the edge of a small bay on the beautiful Otago Harbour. We went for a small birthday celebration at the restaurant that specialises in seafood. We noticed that the adjoining bar was a popular spot for people to have after work drinks. As you would expect from a seafood place, not every element of every dish was available on the night. However, the seafood was outstanding and chef made up for shortages of some species with freebees from others. Our waitress was on the learning curve and far from slick, but was pleasant and helpful. Desserts were excellent. A great spot for seafood near Dunedin in a lovely setting that gives you the feeling of getting out of town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carey's Bay Historic Hotel also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Carey's Bay Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carey's Bay Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.