We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of No 7 Balmac

No 7 Balmac
7 Balmacewen Road | Maori Hill, Dunedin 2010, New Zealand
03 4640064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 206 restaurants in Dunedin
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We went there for New Year's eve dinner. It was very busy and obvious that the restaurant was going to be booked out. Our food arrived in a timely manner with no delays and the service was good. There was a minor mishap with our table numbers when the food came out. However the staff sorted it out quickly and was very professional.

The food were really excellent, I really enjoyed my duck confit and my girlfriend really loved her lamb dish as well. I had the flourless chocalate pudding for dessert and the girlfriend had the Tiramisu, both were really good. Great selections of wines, both by the glass and the bottle.

We certainly would be back agian.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    20
    12
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nothing to shout about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Service was really slow. I ordered the burger which was not tasty. Meat party was bland and there was too much bun. Chips were ok. On the plus side - long black coffee was good. We sat in the courtyard. Furniture is a bit tired and the owners need to open their eyes and remedy things like this.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to other reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food was nice enough - the staff pleasant - the wine selection for the variety we prefer was poor. We wouldn't rave about the place and won't be back. There are other choices which are much better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food with great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hubby took me by surprise and reminded me that as parents, eating out together is not a sin. We arrived to a busy hum and were immediately greeted by the friendly woman who came out from behind the bar to seat us (a rarity sometimes in Dunedin). We ordered souffle for entree (to share) which was divine and just the right size. I ordered pork belly for main and my husband ordered lamb with a side of vegetables to share. They arrived hot and without delay and were just divine. Dessert was affagato with coffee to follow and it was absolute perfection. I simply could not fault the service or the food. Although the restaurant was busy, our waitress was attentive and checked in with us to make sure that we had plenty of water and our needs were well catered for. After dinner, we went home feeling full and happy. I would definitely recommend No. 7 Balmac. Everyone who we have spoken to who has eaten there has enjoyed it immensely. I have also been there for lunch and for coffee and on every occasion, I have enjoyed going back. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favourite for lunch or dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We love going to No.7 Balmac,the food is always fresh and the menu has plenty of choices for everyone.The service is fantastic,our meals are always served with a smile and nothing is ever a problem.The chips are a family favourite!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 7 Balmac also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to No 7 Balmac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No 7 Balmac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.