We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to return again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arts Content Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arts Content Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
1 Castlewood Road | Company Bay, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hope to return again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay. Warm hospitality, great breakfast and cakes. Lovely B&B with the beautiful art work and views.We'll tell all our friends how wonderful this place is. Best B&B!! hope to return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for the glowing review. We hope you do come back again and spend some more time exploring round here . There is so much to see and do nearby. It is so nice to have all that we provide appreciated. We enjoyed your company and hope to see you again. When you tell your friends, tell them they will be assured of a very warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We loved your B&B! It was the perfect place from which to see the Otago Peninsula and all its wonderful wildlife. Thank you for the great suggestions of things to see and do during our stay. And your breakfasts with fresh eggs - Yummy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your glowing and positive review. It's reviews such as yours that make it all worthwhile.
It's our pleasure to meet and welcome guests from around the world and to let the know about all the wonderful experiences that await travellers on our beautiful Peninsula.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We feel that it's so important that we do all that we can to enhance our guests experience of the Peninsula and that they away good memories all round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Lovely place, most wonderful hosts. The breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit, free range eggs from my hosts own chicken, home baked bread, absolutely amazing. Thanks so much for your warm hospitality, Alex and Cathy. I hope to be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We hope you come back too. February is usually a warm and pleasant month but of course you have to get up earlier to catch those sunrises. Really enjoyed looking at your beautiful photographs. Thank you for your lovely review and appreciation of the home baking and the fresh eggs. Next time we will try for slightly better weather as well. Say hello to all those Norwegian Forest cats for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spend four nights here and loved it. Cathy and Alex have the warmest hospitality and it was a genuine pleasure to spend time and chat with them. The breakfast was a highlight, all fresh fruit, eggs from their own chickens, delicious home baked muffins, home made jams. The place was decorated by Cathy's paintings of the local area and local wildlife and she took the time to show us her studio. The cottage was cosy and warm, with a sofa bed upstairs in the kitchen area that was perfect for our 10 year old to sleep in. And the garden was beautiful, an explosion of flowers and colour - probably the most beautiful garden we saw in our 2 month trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thankyou for your wonderful feedback about Arts Content. We couldn’t have asked for a more eloquent endorsement of all we try to provide for our guests. Showing off our view, the gallery and the garden and chatting are things we love to do with such appreciative and friendly people. It was a real pleasure to meet you and we hope that, one day, we will have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
534 reviews 534 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Cathy and Alex gave us a terrific welcome after a long drive from The Catlins. Cake and tea were waiting and they were so helpful with suggestions after asking what we enjoyed. Taking Cathy's advice we saw albatross, fur seals, sea lions and wading birds - as well as visiting the albatross colony and Penguin Place. Another recommendation was "Olveston" - a historic house that we enjoyed so much. The breakfast basket was amazing with enough food for a family of four, with offers of refills every days we felt as though we staying in an upside down cottage, taking advantage of the amazing views. Privacy was perfect, although Cathy was always around to answer questions - such as where to eat (try The Bank for Friday fish and chips. Delicious). The art work is Cathy's and is for sell in the gallery and added to the personal atmosphere. If we return, we would want to stay here again and hope that if Cathy and Alex get to the UK we can meet up on our home territory. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thankyou for your lovely, complimentary feedback about our accommodation. It's always a pleasure to have guests who appreciate our view, the paintings, the comfort of the'cottage', our hospitality and the beautiful Otago Peninsula which we think is one of the world's treasures. Thankyou also for the wonderful way you left the B and B on your departure. If Tripadvisor had stars for guests, you'd get five!! We particularly appreciate positive comments from people who have travelled as widely as you. We hope to catch up with you in England on one of our journeys there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We started our holiday in Dunedin staying at Arts Content as we felt it'd be a good place to chill and get over the jet lag that we were sure to suffer after 36 hrs travelling, and we were not wrong. Cathy & Alex are incredibly nice people and welcomed us into their warm and cozy self-contained cottage in Company Bay. A little way out of Dunedin, the local bus served us well prior to picking up our rental car and we enjoyed seeing the local area as we travelled around the Peninsula into the centre of Dunedin. The cottage is lovely, a perfect size for two and has everything you can possibly need to be comfortable - a real home from home. The cozy bed gave us a good nights sleep with its beautiful bed linen and an electric blanket if the night was chilly - which it was. Kath's breakfast basket was also a real treat. Everything you could possibly want to start the day, and all pretty much home made or home grown. The bread and muffins in particular were a dream. The only down side to the cottage is the spiral stair case which, if you have dexterity problems could be an issue, but otherwise we'd highly recommend Arts Content, with its most beautiful garden which overlooks the sea.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Than you so much for your generous and positive review. You clearly enjoyed yourselves on the Peninsula and we are very happy that your stay with us contributed to the experience. We hope that the breakfast basket didn't increase your waistlines by too much. It's our belief that a hearty breakfast sets the tone for the day :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Thank you so much. This was the best accommodation we encountered during a five week tour of NZ. The view, warm hospitality and generous breakfast were all excellent. We wish we had been able to stay longer.

Room Tip: The steep spiral staircase is not suitable for all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtsContentBnB, Owner at Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your generous and positive review. It's reviews such as yours that make it all worthwhile. We do enjoy welcoming and meeting guests from all over the world and letting them know about all the wonderful things to see on our beautiful Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arts Content Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arts Content Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Castlewood Road | Company Bay, Otago Peninsula, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* The Arts Content B&B on the Otago Peninsula, Dunedin, New Zealand, is absolute waterfront, SELF CONTAINED, cottage style accommodation with the added benefit of a substantial basket breakfast supplied and topped up each day. *The B&B is ideal for a couple. * The B&B has free Wi-Fi Internet. *Decorated in country style and set in a beautiful, "secret" garden. * The B&B adjoins our home and has private entrances and off street parking. * Enjoy sweeping, panoramic harbour views from the front deck. * Upstairs is the Comfortable lounge/dining/kitchen. *Downstairs is the spacious bedroom with ensuite. * Share our pleasure in our beautiful, "secret" garden and take the time to stop and smell our 100+ roses. * A generous, basket breakfast comprising eggs, a choice of cereal, fruit juice, fresh fruit in season, a selection of home made jam, fresh crusty bread, home made muffins, home made yoghurt, plunger coffee and English Breakfast Tea is provided. * Within easy reach of the city, we are ideally located to access all the attractions of the Peninsula - Penguins, Albatross, Sea-lions, Seals and stunning scenery. * We provide you with:- •Free Wi-Fi internet so you will be able to connect to the internet. •Free Sky Satellite T.V. •Free, generous basket breakfast.•Free heating (Heat Pump) and hot water •Free use of washing machine and dryer •Free bedding and towels •Free local telephone calls •You will have unrestricted access to the back and front gardens and the huge deck leading from "your" lounge, at the front, overlooking the harbour. •Off street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arts Content Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arts Content Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.