We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An odd landmark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baldwin Street

Baldwin Street
Dunedin, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 38 Attractions in Dunedin
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An odd landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Baldwin street is kind of emblematic of Dunedin's never-say-die street layout, except that in most other cases where the hill has gotten this steep, the road makers resorted to stairs - some of which are not listed on GPS systems, so a bit of caution is good when using your Nav! There are local stories about tall vans attempting to turn into driveways simply falling over sideways which may or may not be true, but a 3-point turn on this road is probably not a good idea. Other notable steep streets include Pacific Street which, according to my father, was used to test motorcycles in the 1930s and 40s - if it would accelerate up Pacific Street, and nothing broke,it was a fast bike.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    167
    75
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Almost 45 degrees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

QT also has a steep road too (Lake street). Anyhow, go early in the morning when there are no tourists!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OMG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My sisters and I were laughing and nearly crying at same time....was so much fun to say we've done this street and the cheers from a group of teenagers on arriving at the top will give us great memories. People live on this street and do this drive every day!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A break of sweat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wear a pair of good walking shoes/ sport shoes. The steepest part is at the middle 2/3 of the street. Must visit if you are in Dunedin. You'll be able to purchase a certificate at the souvenir shop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard to get a good picture of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were on tour and only had limited time when we visited this street, its completely different from what I had expected and really hard to get a photo of just how steep it is!! It must be tough living at the top of it, worth a visit! There's stairs if your brave enough to climb it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldwin Street also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Baldwin Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baldwin Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.