We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B - with extra 'apartment' space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highbrae Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Highbrae Guesthouse to your Saves list
Highbrae Guesthouse
376 High Street | City Rise, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good B&B - with extra 'apartment' space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had the self-contained room which had a big bedroom space, ensuite bathroom, kitchen and dining table area, which was ideal for our 4 night stay over the New Year period.
We could easily eat in, or get into Dunedin city centre for restaurants.
Rooms were comfortable (maybe a tad old fashioned) but were fine and good value for money.
Stephen was a lovely host, doing good breakfasts and providing local tips.
The location is ok - 10 minute walk down the hill to the Speights Brewery and the Octagon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed with Steven and Fiennie for 3 nights in early Jan. We were only planning on staying for 2 nights, however we liked it so much we stayed another night. Lovely house with an amazing view from our bedroom of the city, a home away from home. Very central with only a walk down the street to the centre of the city. Steven was so lovely, very friendly and helped all the guest as to what the good sites were, where the best places to eat etc. The breakfast was great! I am gluten-free which was no problem for them. 100% reccomend a stay here, we hope to be back!

Room Tip: We stayed at the room at the front of the house, great large room with balcony and views over the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I really enjoyed our time at Highbrae Guesthouse. The room was very nice. The breakfast was really nice- nice breakfast room, nice ambiance, tea and food. An example of the hosts' kindness-my friend sprained her ankle and our hosts drove us to the attraction we were planning to visit. They had a lot of information about Dunedin and were fun to talk with. The location is close to the city, but up a very big hill.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed at Steven & Fiennies Guest House twice. I must say Steven could not be more friendly or helpful during both our visits.Rooms are spotless. Breakfast is great ( super home made bread). Highly recommended.
The Milne Family

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

beautiful old style home on top of the hill looking down on Dunedin central and its harbour , gorgeous views
charming rooms and charming hosts.
welcoming , did all they possibly could have for us, even giving us a short tour of the city sites ,
totally recommended

Room Tip: all rooms excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We had a delightful stay at Highbrae, which is on the top of a hill with good views of the city and harbour. The service was prompt, warm and attentive (without being intrusive), the food was ample and to our taste. Our room was spacious,tastefully decorated, and the bed was luxurious.
Car parking was not a problem, as kerbside parking was easy

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Very nice B&B, great attention to detail and guest needs, even made a special breakfast for our toddler, which was very much appreciated. Stephen has excellent local knowledge and contacts, which he was happy to share with us, and we found invaluable, and even gave us a lift to a local car rental company, after arranging the booking for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highbrae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highbrae Guesthouse

Address: 376 High Street | City Rise, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a taste of the early days of one of New Zealand's oldest cities, while enjoying twenty-first century comfort. Highbrae Guesthouse was built on Dunedin's High Street Cable Car route in 1908. Its early Edwardian architecture featuring many art nouveau characteristics. Today, this impressive home, which offers spectacular views of the city, the ocean, the harbour, as well as easy access to all attractions, also provides first class bed and breakfast accommodation to its guests. The three upstairs guest rooms are carefully maintained to preserve their character for visitors, who delight in the many original features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Highbrae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highbrae Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.