We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel

The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel to your Saves list
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
619 George Street,, Dunedin, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Dunedin
NZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our room was spacious and clean however the room we were in had the smallest shower toilet and basin facility, it basically was a little larger than a normal sized toilet. Walking distance to shopping and university. Staff were very obliging

Room Tip: My only real gripe was the size of the showering facility - I would stay there again, however, I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
9
29
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the old house 16.3.13 and were very pleased with our choice. Our ensuite double room was very spacious and well kitted out despite its age. Had a good nights sleep and a pleasing stay. Whilst the age of the premises shows itself, we liked it and it reminded us of some of the victorian b & b's in the UK. Our room provided everything we needed and we had access to a lounge downstairs with drink facilities. Our wifi time was adequate and the manager/owner was very helpful. The location was ideal being handy for almost everything. Lovely town and would have been more than happy to have stayed a second night. We don't recall the two noisey pubs and the other distractions mentioned by a previous reviewer other than girl students living opposite. This is a university town and their behaviour was mild compared to !!. Our double glazing !! may have kept it out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms are clean, the motel has 2 pubs - complete with loud music, drunk students and noisy beer garden - for neighbours. The worst part though was the bed. Sagged in the middle so badly we didn't sleep for half the night and ended up with one person taking the single bed. Not worth the money. Plenty of other options in Dunedin for the same price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We called in on our way home from the catlins. For a family with small kids the old motel was great dated but you can see where they have put new heaters ect in. Staff were very friendly and the rooms were large. I hope next time traveling through we are lucky enough to stay here again thanks Sahara!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This property is in a great location and within easy walking distance to the Octagon/Art gallery, Museum, Olveston, Botanical Gardens & fabulous Good Earth Cafe!

We stayed in the new luxurious studios, which are very clean, modern & comfortable. Well equipped with fridge, top plate & microwave if needed. We booked via Wotif and got a great deal too!

The only critisism is that given there are 4 studios to each block, other guests are not always considerate & allow their entrance doors to slam shut at all hours and disturb sleep! To help overcome this, notices could be put up in each guest room reminding guests to use the door handle and another solution would be for the owner to change the 'tension' on the hinge, so that it soft closes instead of slamming.

We really enjoyed our stay and the owner was very friendly and helpful on arrival and for those of you who like a bit of nostalgia, you could book a room in the old hotel, which has some very grand featues & the atmosphere of Fawlty Towers, but without Manuel!

Room Tip: As the property is on a busy street, request a studio at the rear, it was much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our team stayed here during the marching nationals, with some in the guesthouse and others in the motel units. The units were very clean and tidy with fresh white towels and extra milk readily supplied upon request.Those in the historic guesthouse were not quite so comfortable as this accommodation was of mixed quality, but the breakfast and lounge rooms were well patronised by our marchers. The proprietor, Brian, was very congenial, nothing was too much trouble, and he was helpful with our queries. Prices were reasonable for what was on offer.This property is in a quiet area and close to amenities that can easily be reached on foot.

Room Tip: Take one of the units for privacy and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here one night. Had prebooked as our first night in Dunedin. Huge upstairs room with ensuite in the guesthouse. Friendly, clean and helpful. Not full of flash modern appointments but reasonable cost and ammenities. The guesthouse part has a bit of character, don't know about the rest though only because we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel

Address: 619 George Street,, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sahara Guesthouse Hotel Dunedin
The Sahara Guesthouse And Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.