We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing in dunedin :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capers Cafe

Capers Cafe
412 George St. North opposite knox church, Dunedin, New Zealand
64 (0)34 777-769
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 211 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
1 review
“Best thing in dunedin :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous staff, service and food was to die for, recommend to everyone, cant wait til our next trip in Dunedin :) Eggs benedict is one of my favs, and it was by far best ever tried :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    36
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must stop for breakfast/brunch when in Dunedin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

College Campus feel with upscale and unique & unique pancake offerings, along with many other breakfast orientated items .....great smoothies !
Make this a priority if you are staying anywhere near downtown Dunedin !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Left feeling something was missing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We dropped in for a quick breakfast on a week day. It wasn't a very busy time as it was less than half full. The layout is comfortable with a variety of different seating arrangements. It was also bright, pictures on the wall were interesting and overall the dining room area seemed in good order and clean. Our meal orders were taken and then we waited more than 20 minutes before the food arrived. Coffee was very strong but not of high quality, at least to my tastes. The scrambled eggs were watery and the toast was soggy as it soaked up the excess liquid. I felt that the egg was either reconstituted from powdered egg or eggs were beaten too much with too much liquid (hopefully milk) so as to result in a homogeneous mass. Anyway, i wouldn't recommend the eggs to anyone! Maybe we should have gone with the pancakes! With so many cafes in the immediately area I think I would try elsewhere next time out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Drexels Of Dunedin!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is Dunedin's Iconic Breakfast Restaurant and is world famous for their pancakes. Being a health conscious person my favorite is a simple dish "Eggs As You Like" that come with a special side serve of home made beans, add a side of mushrooms and a long black to wash it down and you have a winning combination to start the day. Capers is one of the few restaurants around Dunedin which is consistent with both good food and coffee. A must for any breakfast lover but get in quick or book to avoid disappointment. This place is BUSY!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Whether grabbing a pastry to go, or staying for a decadent pancake breakfast, Capers is your place. I studied abroad in Dunedin and I went to Capers at least 10 times in 6 weeks. They made delicious mochas and they were on the main street, George Street. This is located right across from Knox Church. Definitely stop by if you're there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capers Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Capers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.