We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean but very small area for Powered Site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aaron Lodge Top 10

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aaron Lodge Top 10
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   162 Kaikorai Valley Road, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty lodging in Dunedin
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Clean but very small area for Powered Site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stay in Aaron Lodge Top 10 Holiday Park for 1 night. Not easy to find for first timer, I missed the turn 2 times cause the entrance is rather small (Just nice for an 4 beth Campervan) The price is not cheap (SGD 68 for 2 Adult and 2 kids - 1 is infant) The price generally is clean - Kitchen, Toilet and Family Room. Nice Family room for kids to bath with Bath Tub, there is also a heated Pool for my elder daughter to swim a short while. Too bad from Powered Site to all area are without shelter but this is quote common in NZ. Kitchen are big but nearer to powered site only has 1 table and 4 chair which is rather pathetic. Maybe because they expect you to have meal in your campervan? One complain is the kitchen sink tap is very pathetic, unable to wash a plate properly cause the sprout is too short!

The toilet are clean but there is no heater ... or the heater is spolit/unable to switch on (Male toilet). So .. you have to quickly shower and get out of that place FAST during the colder season.

One last thing, the parking area for the Powered site is very small/compact. I wonder if every Campervan is parked. How to get out of the place? Cause the turning radius of RV/Campervan are quite wide and the lane is very small. Between vehicle space is also small and funny the pathway dont link to the kitchen straight as it is blocked by a low barricade. Need to hop across it which is rather inconvenient.

Overall experience is above average but not exactly the best I stay so far.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
27
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this site in our motorhome. It is on the outskirts of town so not walkable. The toilets and showers are fairly basic and have seen better days.

The campsite had very good leisure facilities with a small pool, a pool table, table tennis and indoor bowls. They also had a 9 course mini golf course, which has got to be the smallest 9 hole course in the world. You have to use a plastic air ball rather than a gold ball, other wise the ball will go too far. ts stupid but good fun for 45 minutes or so. Sadly I lost to my wife. Arrggghhh!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katikati, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in The Kozy Kiwi Self Contained unit, the double bed was small with one side hard aganist the wall, so it was better for one of us to sleep in the bunk bed. They are designed to take 4 people, but only have 2 chairs for the table & a small 2 seater suite. Very small (did I say very very small shower) the washing basin is very hard to shave at. Would we stay again? not in the Kozy Kiwi, the rooms opposite looked much better. I feel the TOP 10 NZ need to look at grading the cabins & self contained untils so the we all know what we are booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Bit dated but clean and nicely laid out, although not much space between pitches. Disappointed public transport to and from the city was so poor and not recommended. Meant dragging the camper out just to go into Dunedin and park for the day at the station if taking the train, for example.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having staying stayed at many Top 10's before with only one poor experience we did'nt actually stay the night here dispite having booked before. On inspection of the room the cheap nylon sheets were crumpled with dirty duvets, the room was also right next to a busy main road.
In addition the room seemed very tired. The only positive thing I can say is that the owner refunded our pre paid tarrif minus a 15% booking fee. I do think that the Top 10 organisation need to review their accomodation providors as the quality of their camps does vary hughly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I am writing this review after returning home from our holiday. We stayed at Top 10 everynight except one when we could not get accomodation at a Top 10 as they were fully booked out. Dunedins Top 10 has a lovely garden and grounds, their are new motels at motel prices so for me if you were going to pay for a motel then I would not be looking at doing so at a Top 10 Park. There is no advantage. The unit we had was not of a good standard, badly needed updating as did the kitchen block and shower block. Of all the Top 10's we stayed at Dundein did not even have a fridge for their units. In fairness they may have plans to demolish these old faclities and replace with new this certainly needs to be done as this park let the rest down. Dunedin is a lovely place. We stayed one night. I would not stay again unless it was brought up to standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The site was more expensive than the other top 10's vistited, the camper vans are cramed in for maximum profit, and there was no clear marking of where to find clean/ drinking water, and the 'dump station' was in the middle which caused a number of heated exchanges with people emptying the vans,and some conjestion as everyone heads out just before 10am. The shower/ toilet block is clean but very dated, and for such a large site there was only 4 showers in the main block and 2 more up a steep hill.
You had to pay for the BBQ's which on the other sites you dont. the staff were not particularly welcoming or heplful, but did phone for a taxi for us on a number of occastions.
There were a number of brightly coloured tabels and benches which can be moved closer to your van for ease of use.

Room Tip: Leave your van and take a taxi into town, it'll cost around $12 each way
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aaron Lodge Top 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Lodge Top 10

Address: 162 Kaikorai Valley Road, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aaron Lodge Top 10 4.5*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aaron Lodge Top 10, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aaron Lodge Top 10 to your Saves list