We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to go home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azena Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Azena Motel to your Saves list
Azena Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   12 Cranford St | St Albans, Christchurch 8015, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to go home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Azena Motel for two weeks while we were having EQC repairwork done to our house. Units are spacious, very clean, modern and warm with all the mod cons. Location is excellent, with the supermarket being only a 2 minute walk. A great bonus was having a washing machine and drier in the bathroom. John and his team are very helpful and friendly. Have recommended motel to family and friends already. Felt sad to be heading home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
34
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were one a 3 month trip so this Motel with a washer and dryer was welcome. In addition to that the room was wonderfully modern in decor, comfortable bed, clean, on site parking, everything you would want. Word on this one is out, so book in advance or you might be disappointed. Gentleman at the desk was very friendly and informative regarding Christchurch. Computer available in the office for everyone's use. Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Best motel I ever stayed inn. Stayed here with three friends - rooms were very roomy, lots of space to get around and we were suprised there was a small kitchen plus washing machine and dryer. Guy at reception was very friendly and helpful which made our stay extra comfortable. Oh yeah beds are super comfy. Overall a very clean motel. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: 5 mins drive into city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had 2 rooms: a triple and a double for 3 nights. Check-in was very friendly and efficient; rooms were spotlessly clean. Both rooms had large flat screen TVs. The rooms were very well equipped, beds were very comfortable. Kitchen had hob, microwave and adequate utensils. There was a table, chairs, soft chairs in the double room, and the triple room had a desk, chairs and settee.
The triple room had an excellent spa bath, and the double had an excellent shower. Both rooms had plenty of towels, a washing machine and a tumble dryer.
There was free internet access in the rooms with some usage restrictions (not too onerous.)
Rooms were cleaned every day. Location excellent, with easy access from the airport.
We had a great stay. Many thanks to John for his friendly assistance
There is a good supermarket, Thai and Indian restaurants across the road, as well as a petrol station.
Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Spa bath worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Azena motel is a very tidy environment, well equipped and provides good services quality. I was greeted by John and he was very kind and friendly all the time during my short staying (2 days). The place is also walking distance to a Thai restaurant, a dominos pizza and a supermarket which is quite handy for lunch times and groceries. Aside from that, this place offer free basic internet(500 Mb/per day ) as well, which is perfect to check emails, browser, etc). The price was not quite cheap in my point of view, so for this reason, I'm not given it 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night and would highly recommend it. The room was lovely and spacious with a huge tv and a real bonus was the washing machine and dryer located in the bathroom. It also had under floor heating (or it felt like it) on the tiles. The rooms were very clean and we would definitely stay here again. Had a little trouble checking out though as no one was in reception at 8.30 so had to call John on his cellphone but it turned out all good. he was very helpful with where and what to do around Christchurch

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I booked the 3 day deal and had a room with full laundry facilities which is great when travelling for business. Also have free wifi (capped but generous). Nice hosts and very nice room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azena Motel

Address: 12 Cranford St | St Albans, Christchurch 8015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azena Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azena Motel, new! opened 2007 , studio apertments with free internet in room conection cat.5e cable. Washing machines and dryer in all units , brilliant breakfast menu. Party of 4 or 5 ? no problem - we have units with interconnecting doors. close to CBD -2.0kms bus at the door . Airport is 9.5kms - 10-15 taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azena Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.