We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pomeroy's on Kilmore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
284 Kilmore Street | adjacent to Old Brewery Inn, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 111 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This b&b is great value for money, with well decorated rooms and a lots of choices for breakfast including fresh bread, yogurt,fruit, dried fruit and various different cereal options. On top of that you receive complementary drink vouchers when you arrive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
35
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were lucky to book into this small property at the last minute. The brew pup and restaurant next door is a must! This small hotel is absolutely charming and sparkling clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and accomodating. We had a wonderful time. Free parking too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great stay here to finish off a three week trip in NZ.

Lovely room (and a surprise upgrade!) cleaned immaculately each day. Help yourself breakfast was tasty and ample supplies!

Steve the owner (and of adjacent Pomeroy's pub) was really friendly and helpful. The food and beer next door is amazing!! Some of the nicest we had on the trip, so if you can't stay here, at least eat next door!

Excellent! Would love it to be our local - shame it's the other side of the world!

Room Tip: We were in the Cantabury room which was lovely! But it is on the same side as the pub, so perhaps op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here during a recent trip to NZ. Was upgraded to the Gardens room which was supposed to be a bigger room, so I would have hated to see the room I actually had booked. The room was small but cosy. The room was quite cold but the heater was fantastic. The bathroom was spacious. Free unlimited wi-fi was great.

The best thing about this B&B was the communal dining room where you could have breakfast when you pleased, and could talk or avoid having to talk to other guests as you pleased.

The downsides to staying here was the noise from the pub with the outside tables directly next to the dining room and numerous times of walking to the dining room to fill up a water bottle I found myself seeing the pub patrons outside. Returned during the day while they must have been servicing the room and the door to all the rooms were wide open and no one was inside our room. Although you can't access the rooms unless you are staying there (need your room key to unlock the front and back door of the house), still didn't really feel this was appropriate.

Besides that we had a nice stay at Pomeroy's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Great spot to go and have a chill out drink with mates. My girlfriend and I went together and had a great time. If you hunt on both the dartboards you can find enough working darts to have a game or play the foozball table or watch some live music or just sample the awesome local beer until the cows come home.

Be sure to try the Emerson's Pale Ale and the Epic. Fantastic beer.

The food is great too and the general look of the pub is really warm and old school.

Avoid the house wines. Worth the extra buck to get something that doesn't taste like vinegar.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Pomeroy's is a wonderful B&B. The room was clean, comfortable and well-appointed (and quiet--see room tip). Moreover, the adjoining pub has excellent food (and great beers and wines) and is a good place to meet friendly Kiwis.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the pub and restaurant. I stayed in the Kilmore Room and never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here on a Wednesday night and the pub had a great atmosphere, very cosy and inviting. The service at the bar was great, the bartender helped us select a couple of beers since we weren't familiar with any (mostly craft beers). We told him what we normally liked and then he let us sample about 3 different ones and we made our decision from there. The food was also exceptional. I had the smoked fish pie that came with a small salad and my mom had the bangers and mash. Both plates were quite large and filling. We also had the rum and date sticky pudding for dessert and again it did not disappoint. Overall it was a real enjoyable evening out!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pomeroy's on Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomeroy's on Kilmore

Address: 284 Kilmore Street | adjacent to Old Brewery Inn, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomeroy's on Kilmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pomeroy's on Kilmore to your Saves list