We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Milano Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Milano Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   87 Papanui Rd | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
us
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Milano Motor Lodge. It was easy to check in, the room was clean and there was available parking. It is located close to a great big park and near the center of town. With limited options for accommodation in Christchurch, be sure to book early. It was sold out for a number of days on either side of our reservation.

It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words. It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words. It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words. It is really annoying that these reviews have to be at least 200 words.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to review our complex, we do appreciate it and enjoyed having you stay with us, we have been very busy this past summer but were pleased to be able to accommodate you for some of the nights you wanted. Trust you enjoyed your stay in Christchurch, we are very positive about our future and hope you return!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The reservation process had been very helpful, and so I was expecting a slightly warmer welcome than received. That being said, the room and amenities were of a very good standard. Comfortable and clean. We had a one bedroom suite with a spa bath. There was plenty of room for our family to fit in. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary comments. Not sure why you felt our welcome wasn't warmer but can assure you that all our guests are very really important to us and we do value their comments. Keeps us on our toes. Hopefully we can meet your expectations next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent our first night in NZ here after 34 hours of travel. It was a very pleasant spot for transitioning into our vacation. Location is really convenient; easy walk downtown. Cafe Metro nearby was a great introduction to fabulous NZ coffees. We had no complaints about our lodging and would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from the road are probably the quietest.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
We were really glad you were able to relax and enjoy our complex and location before starting on your NZ holiday and appreciate you taking the time to review us. Metro Cafe is an amazing place for coffee /food and continues to win our guests approval during their stay in Christchurch. - Thanks Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We (two couples visiting from the USA) spent four nights at the Milano Motor Lodge, hosted by Jocelyn and Murray, and they couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The rooms were spotless and spacious. We were provided with fresh linens daily; newspaper at your door every morning; kitchen fully stocked with dishes, glasses and cutlery and supplies to wash up with; use of the clothes line after doing your laundry; and the list goes on. We would highly recommend the motel and couldn't fault it. As another reviewer has noted, it is an easy walk to Hagley Park, the Botanical Garden, Canterbury Museum, an iSite office, and coach tours to explore the area. Thanks for a wonderful stay! Cilla J

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms obviously have easy access if you have heavy luggage. Any of their rooms would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We were pleased you had a good stay in Christchurch and were happy with us. We had looked forward to your arrival following our emails prior to your visit. People like the four of you make it such a pleasure to be a motellier and we thorough enjoyed your company. Trust you had a safe journey home and continue to blog about New Zealand. Loved the fishing stories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wonderful hosts accommodated us arriving before the usual afternoon check in time. Room was small but well appointed and very quiet. There was no traffic noise even though the motel is situated on a busy road. Gardens are beautiful and and well maintained. The motel is situated close to a nice shopping centre/mall and a choice of number of nice restaurants. The hosts have thought of everything required in the room, right down to sweets and chocolate. Great to be able to connect to internet without any hassells and charges. Great parking within the motel grounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business, it does help us focus on what our guests want. We were sorry we didn't have a larger room for you but next time hopefully we can allocate one of our larger studios but were happy to give you an earlier check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had one night here and could not fault the place. The rooms were immaculately clean and tidy. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. Service was excellent, offered to drop us off at our function if it was raining or too cold to walk. Easy walk into the city centre. Shops; cafes and eateries within walking distance as well. Would definitely stay again if travelling to Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We were pleased you were happy with Milano Motor Lodge and appreciate you taking the time to do a review and look forward to hosting you both in the future. You were very easy guests to please, so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in this motel for a night before flying out to Singapore. The motel was very clean, modern and comfortable.

But, the real blessing were the hosts - Murray and Jocelyn. As a small female struggling with two heavy suitcases, I was concerned and worried with how I was going to get them both up and down the stairs to my room. Murray very kindly helped me with my cases without even being asked and was there the next morning on check-out to help me down the stairs again. Whilst checking out I met lovely Jocelyn who didn't bill me for internet use (due to low mb usage) and who was very kind and welcoming.

I can't express how grateful I was for their above and beyond help in this difficult transition time for me. I will definitely be staying here again whenever I am in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Rooms close to Papanui Rd can be noisier but it is quiet during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Trust you are now settled in Singapore. Still think of you and your rather large suitcases but you will be gone for a while. Thank you for reviewing us we appreciate your comments and were happy we could send you on your way with as little hassle as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Motor Lodge

Address: 87 Papanui Rd | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated 4 star plus complex. Great location, Great service, Free WiFi, close to City Centre. Recently updated, modern and comfortable accommodation. Short walk to Merivale Mall,boutique shops. Great selection of retaurants. Walk to city centre, Hagley Park Botanical Gardens, Museum and Restart City Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Milano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.