We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milano Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Milano Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Milano Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   87 Papanui Rd | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Longview, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Milano Motor Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. I stayed there for two nights near the beginning of my South Island trip and liked it so much I stayed there again at the end. The lodge is very clean, well maintained, and within walking distance to downtown and the gardens.

Jocelyn and Murray were very friendly and took the time to fully answer any question I had. I had trouble hearing one person on the phone, so Jocelyn acted as an intermediary to help solve a car rental issue. This was service beyond the expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, we enjoyed your company and hope you have many happy memories of your trip to New Zealand. Our guests really do make it a pleasure to be working in this industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
14
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here prior to picking up our campervan to tour around the South Island. Very clean and well maintained property with average service - not the typical, very friendly Kiwis we experienced throughout our 2 weeks in New Zealand. The bed size is a bit small (the King is really a Queen by international standards but we were told NZ King's are smaller - who knew?). Nevertheless, they accomodated us by bringing up a cot for my daughter to sleep on - a quick grunt with the drop off and we went to bed. It is walking distance to many places to eat (St Germain across the street is wonderful for dinner) and shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We would like to point out that when you only book a suite that caters for 2 people and you arrive with three you won't be satisfied with the room. The king bed we have is not designed to sleep 3 people. Had we known that your daughter was travelling with you and that you were in fact three not two as you booked we would have contacted you and accommodated you in a larger room that had bedding and utilities suitable for three. We did our best under the circumstances.
We were pleased you appreciated the cleanliness of our complex which we work extremely hard on, our location which is second to none in Christchurch and the amazing restaurant over the road. So not all bad. We will try hard to work on our friendliness and service which apparently let us down which does surprise us as we usually do well in both, as is seen from our other reviews and we do try to put ourselves out for our guests. Perhaps if you had had a longer stay here rather than one night you would have seen this. We are really pleased that you did enjoy your stay in New Zealand it is a wonderful country and Christchurch is a great city to visit in spite of everything we have experienced over the past two years. We are coming back strongly. - Milano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My family stayed at the Milano Motor Lodge last weekend for a wedding. Jocelyn and her team were so friendly - very helpful with everything. Went the extra mile for us - came to the rescue of my son when we needed a needle and thread for his trousers, then actually drove us the 2 ks to our wedding bus when the taxi was not able to take the 5 in our party! Nothing was too much trouble. In addition the units were spotless, very comfortable and very well appointed. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We enjoyed your company. You were a lovely, friendly family and a pleasure to deal with. So pleased you enjoyed the wedding at such a lovely venue and we look forward to hosting you again. - Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a delightful motor lodge. It is very well placed for both the airport and the centre of the city of Christchurch and has all that one would wish for in terms of room size, fittings and comfort. The room was quiet at night and we were close to a good choice of places to eat. Our hosts were most helpful, giving excellent assistance on what to do in the city for a day and lending us some scales to weigh our luggage prior to going to the airport. Our washing was done for us while we were out, leaving us free to spend the whole day exploring the city. Highly recommended. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you both and hope you do return in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review our property we do appreciate it. - Regards
Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great first impression as we drove in. The entire complex was tidy. Again, great first impression when we entered the room. Very clean and modern. Light and spacious bathroom. Comfortable bed. Chocolates and lollies were a nice touch. A sewing kit was available for use too which was fantastic. I would recommend this motor lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, it is appreciated. Pleased we could help with the sewing - a stitch in time!!! - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at the Milano Motor Lodge as an unscheduled part of our time having earthquake repairs. The rooms and facilities were clean and neat and all that one would expect of a motorlodge for a short vacation stay. What set the Milano apart was the proprietors' thoughtfulness around our expected vacancy date and reassurances that, notwithstanding the stress and vagaries of building completion dates, they could factor in extra time. While this wasn't necessary, that and their accommodation of our need to come in early after leaving our prior accommodation (what a circus!) made our stay there so much more relaxing. We would recommend it. Despite being on a busy road, traffic noise was not at issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We were very happy to accommodate you and enjoyed having you. Trust you are all settled back into your normal routine with no more hassles. All the best for 2013 and thanks for the review. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Although slightly more expensive than others this is a nice modern motel with good room options. You probably won't find a better motel in this area. Downsides were limited cooking facilities but there are lots of restaurants within 10 minute walk. Good location quite near Merivale. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are glad you were happy with us and thank you for taking the time to do the review, we look forward to hosting you again in 2013 - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Motor Lodge

Address: 87 Papanui Rd | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated 4 star plus complex. Great location, Great service, Free WiFi, close to City Centre. Recently updated, modern and comfortable accommodation. Short walk to Merivale Mall,boutique shops. Great selection of retaurants. Walk to city centre, Hagley Park Botanical Gardens, Museum and Restart City Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Milano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milano Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.