We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have tried to suit everybody and gone down-market.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

Denny's
382 Moorhouse Ave, Christchurch, New Zealand
365-5535
Improve this listing
Ranked #448 of 579 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Australian, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“They have tried to suit everybody and gone down-market.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I found it sticky and noisy with families, and flies buzzing round. The food was good value but ordinary. I wasn't keen to eat it because of the ambience - I wanted to get out and wash my hands thoroughly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    7
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

our visit to Denny's was such a different experience, it's like in between a fancy restaurant and something like MacDonalds' or Burger King, the food was nice after a long drive, warm and inviting atmosphere

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had the bacon benny while my wife had the french toast. Donna served us in a pleasant and timely manner. The standard and presentation was the same as in the USA . We have eaten later in the evening on other occasions and will continue to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went here xmas day and was so greatful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I actually like the food here! Specially the curly fries! The kids love them, and the fact that you can take your whole family and see a picture kiddies menu so you dont have to sit there explaining the kids can see and choose which meal they would like if they are pre schoolers or still learning to read! The kids eat for free deal is awesome! I loved my lamb shanks and creamy potato mash with mint sauce... I love the way they serve the food! The variety of 'adult drinks' is very very tempting! Deserts were absolutely delic! Kids love the spag and meatballs, hubby steak... all and all its a very lovely experience and the staff are relaxed and friendly.... a very family place or if late at night or public holiday it is a place that is always open! It always tastes better when someone else cooks and cleans huh hehe

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great selection and super friendly staff! Out waitress made sure we knew all the deals and was lively and funny without being in your face. Great food and location. Only thing was it was a bit cold.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.