We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning meal & service.... will definitely be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe

The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe
290 Montreal St, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
03 365 6066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 519 restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Café, New Zealand, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning meal & service.... will definitely be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

My partner & I visited The Coffee House last Weds for dinner; have been meaning to go for ages but never got round to it! Anyway, the 'GrabOne' special gave me the kick in the pants I needed & along we went.
Loved the ambience upstairs, although I was a wee bit chilly to start with (sitting by the door) but that's the only thing I can find to nitpick about!
The service was absolutely fantastic; don't know our waiter's name but she was lovely; very attentive & genuine without being smarmy.
I had the beef fillet with the side of caramelised kumara & the red wine jus; the beef was melt in the mouth and the flavour of the jus, just stunning. He had the flintstone steak with salad, chips & garlic butter which seemed to hit the spot. For dessert I had the butternut brûlée on the waiter's recommendation..... absolutely divine. He had the sticky toffee pudding which was to die for.

Stunning, stunning food..... went to Chillingworth Rd in the past couple of months which was lovely but to me, the food here topped it. Go! You won't regret it :o)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    100
    65
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even though under construction, it was still amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Luckily, we were staying very close to this restaurant, so we went for both dinner and breakfast a number of times. We loved the flat whites, fruit bowl and citrus bar for breakfast. Our dinners were wonderful as well. Great service, lovely atmosphere (even though it was under construction). We cannot wait to go back once the construction is complete.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have come twice for lunch and this was our first time for dinner. The menu looks amazing which includes a nice steak menu as well. I had the vension with black pudding and risotto which was phenomenal. My wife had the fish of the day, grouper, with polenta. Both were amazing. For dessert we had the sticky date pudding and creme brulee. Ermagurd. Yes, do it. Would highly recommend here for all meals. Very friendly service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good place to meet up with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Went to coffee house with friends. The staffs are very friendly. Ordered their lunch mains of Italian pastas of some sort. It was just vegetables and no meat. Tasted okay, not bad, but not great, and the quantity not filling. Seems like this is more of a place to meet to nibble snacks, and I can't really expect to be filled up after the meal. So I will have this place in mind if I want to meet friends up, nibble, and talk about how our lives have been up to. I wouldn't choose this place for a serious dining experience where I would expect a filling main meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious food and upstairs decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Ate here with my husband on our first night in Christchurch. It was so local to our b&b and had good reviews. The menu was so lovely we ended up having 3 courses! Definitely eat upstairs. Beautiful wallpaper and fireplace up there. Between us we had soup of the day and the hosts cheese soufflé which both were yummy although soufflé needed more dressing. For mains we had monkfish in chilli sauce which was the special, so light and fresh and the steak. Dessert was deconstructed rhubarb tart and donuts which were divine! A really great night and happy tummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.