We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promising menu, but execution needs work.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe

The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe
290 Montreal St, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
03 365 6066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 519 restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Café, New Zealand, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Promising menu, but execution needs work.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I ordered a steak with merlot and olive butter accompanied by chips. The steak was a bit undercooked for medium, but since everyone has a different definition of what contitutes medium and medium rare, I was not too bothered by it. However, the steak lacked seasoning and the merlot and olive butter sauce needs to be enhanced as it added nothing to the flavor profile of the steak. The service was awful. I was never once offered a refill on my water and no one ever came to check in. Additionally, the servers hardly looked at customers or spoke to them. This place has potential to be amazing with a few tweaks to the menu and a new staff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    100
    65
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, not so great welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ate dinner here and the food was truly excellent (we had beef and lamb and then cakes from their mouthwatering cabinet!), but the service wasn't as good as <we'd become used to in NZ. The waitresses virtually ignored us when we walked in, and then were rather surly all through the meal. Yes it was fairly late (8.30 pm) so they may have been on shift for a while, but it was a bit of a contrast to the pleasant surroundings and lovely food. I would still recommend it! It must be great for coffee and cakes in the day-time, and if you can't finish them, you get to take the left-o vers home in a doggy bag.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Went here for dinner on our first night in NZ. The fish of the day was cooked beautifully and my husband enjoyed a steak cooked just to his liking. The desserts were also very good. The service was attentive and we were glad we ignored the advise that there were no restaurants still open near the city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A relaxed atmosphere with delicious menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Even on Valentine's Day we got a table without a reservation. Thank heavens it was a lovely evening to eat on the patio. The service was excellent, and we really appreciated the nibbler's plate and appetizer sampler platter, as we were looking for a light meal close to our hotel. Never one to pass up a New Zealand cheese plate, that, too, was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stylish place for a Sunday breakfast. Fantastic food at such a good price for good quality. Will definately be back. And always good to be supporting our beautiful central city again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coffee House Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.