We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Shining Light” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Red Verandah

Under The Red Verandah
502 Worcester St, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
03 381 1109
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 658 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Shining Light”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Under the Red Verandah is a cafe that would be hard to miss and you wouldn't want that. In the middle of a hard hit earthquake area this cafe is like a beacon of light. It screams stop and come inside and you won't be disappointed. Friendly staff, great coffee, quirky places to sit and good food. What more could you ask for? A definite stop whenever I am in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    37
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum for my tum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We decided to have breakfast here after a recommendation from a friend. We ordered the creamy mushrooms on toast and the breakfast scramble, both were delicious! The coffee was perfect, and sitting outside in the gardens was delightful! The staff are very nice and accommodating. Highly recommend having breakfast here. Lunch menu sounds just as good too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We flew into Christchurch early on a cold winter morning, picked up the hire car and decided we were hungry. We had no idea of where to go, but after a little reconnaissance this name came up with very good reviews. We were not disappointed! It is a quirky little place, warm and cosy with smiling efficient staff. The food was really good, and generous portion sizes. A great start to our South Island trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Funky place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We four friends met for breakfast - three were from out of town and one of the three from Australia. They asked me to recommend somewhere a little different, so I suggested Under the New Red Verandah. We were seated in the covered verandah under a gas heater, which was much appreciated by my thin blooded friends! ( It was a cold morning). The order was taken promptly, and the food was very good. One eggs bene, one mushrooms on toast, one pancakes and one scrambled eggs. All were given the tick, then each had a very pleasant cup of coffee. All in all, a good experience. For once, the place was not packed with customers, so we got very good service. In the past, this has not always been the case.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, coffee & brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Visited at Easter, friendly attentive service. Quickly served coffees which were amazing as usual. Ordered the bruschetta $23, eggs perfectly poached & mushrooms delicious. Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Red Verandah also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Under The Red Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Red Verandah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.