We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapppointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Red Verandah

Under The Red Verandah
502 Worcester St, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
03 381 1109
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 602 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disapppointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had heard a lot about this cafe but it didn't live up to its reputation. The waiting staff were pleasant but seemed too casually dressed and scruffy. The food service was slow. The food was adequate but overpriced. Even worse we realised later that that we had been over-charged -perhaps paying for something which had gone to another table. We shall not go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable food let down by terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have been here a couple of times but today will be the last. The food seems to have gone down hill over the last few months. For a starter our waiter smelt like he had forgotten to take a shower. They got our order wrong and only bought out one meal for a table of three then just left us sitting there we had to go and ask what was happening.The rest of the food came with no apology. What was bought out was a lot smaller than what was in the cabinet. Overall the food was okay but really let down by the disappointing service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous environment and food to match!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

All the staff were polite, helpful and cheerful and the food was fantastic! Their cake is to die for! Inside and outside seating and both have that comfortable cottage feel! In a residential quiet area too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Food - Unfortunately overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We found the little Red Verandah after seeing it on Trip Advisor.. a bit out of town, however we loved the feel of it. Nice and warm and staff were lovely. However, we were quite shocked at the prices on the menu, nice food, but too pricey for just every day ordinary food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yummy food, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend to anyone. The food is yummy, the staff are lovely and the restaurant is very cute!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Red Verandah also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Under The Red Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Red Verandah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.