We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go into town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trevinos Bar & Restaurant

Trevinos Bar & Restaurant
Riccarton Rd, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
03 343 5378
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 602 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta, Tapas, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Trevinos is a contemporary restaurant specializing in Mediterrean cuisine. Patrons can chose from our 60 seat restaurant, al fresco dining or casual dining in large adjoining bar area. Trevinos has a sunny north facing aspect with ample onsite parking. Conveniently located close to Hagley Park. Live Music Friday nights, Big screen TV, Conference facilities, Gaming Lounge and Accommodation adjacent.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go into town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you are staying in a motle on Riccarton raod - especially the City end, try out Trevinos restaurant (its in City Park Motel Complex and fronts onto the main road).
It is very reasonably priced and has a great selection.
It will pay to book if you want to sit in a restaurant surroundings (we did the 2nd time around) however, you can have your meal served in the Bar area too.

Nice friendly staff & very welcoming.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Baz
On behalf of the management and staff we thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your comments. We own both Trevinos and Christchurch City Park Motels and our team work hard to provide great service. Riccarton Road is a great location, handy to everything, especially at the Hagley Park end.
We look forward to hosting you again soon at both premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    51
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went during the week for lunch the four of us enjoyed the meals which were large and very well presented and the tastes were divine. Good menu selections to choose from. Wait staff are very professional and well groomed. They knew the menu and specials well. The atmosphere was bright and smelt fresh no cooking fumes etc. Tables and seating are well spaced and plenty of room to move around. The meals were priced ok but the drinks were expensive. overall a good visit. Car parking out the back was close to the door.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello OllyGirlCanterbury
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments. Next time make sure you have our $18 Cork and Fork menu at lunch time with a FREE Beverage which can be beer, wine, split or coffee. We offer this Monday to Friday 12pm to 3pm except Public Holidays. That will suit your budget, I am sure. A great way to get a group of ladies to lunch.
Looking forward to hosting you at Trevinos again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a lovely evening with my visiting grandparents at Trevinos. I was a little nervous after reading some of the more recent reviews, but I needn't have been.

The service was excellent. I wish I had made a note of our waitress's name, but then maybe she would feel weird about being personally praised by an anonymous online review...! She was attentive and friendly and knew all the right things to tell us/ask.

The food was generally great. Between us we had a pasta dish, a pizza dish, steak and a salad. The Caesar salad had prawns which sounded like a nice idea, but my grandmother wasn't a big fan (and also they seemed a bit burnt, which was odd?). Apart from that, no complaints. The desserts were also delicious; I had the creme brulee.

The atmosphere was nice, we were seated in a cosy booth, but the music we could hear from the bar was kind of... interesting? Generally 90's pop from the sound of it. Kind of odd to be eating dinner in a nice restaurant to the soothing sounds of MC Hammer.

Overall, we had a lovely evening, in no small part due to the excellent waitress. We'll be back. :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service with a smile.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The restaurant is located in a good area with easy parkingability! The food and service couldn't be faulted. I have had a few meals there and will definitely go back for more!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our staff work extremely hard each day to give you great service, great food and great hospitality. Even better when you report with a smile because that is New Zealand hospitality at its best. Look forward to hosting you again at Trevinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The best meal in Christchurch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Amasing food and agreat wine list.. This is a must . Really enjoyed the menu and found it hard to choose. Suggest you book as this is a well known dining venue and we were lucky to get a table. Thank you to the wonderful staff that made our last night, a special one.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi P, Owner at Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We love hosting people from all over the world giving them great food, great service and great times.
Looking forward to hosting you again soon at Trevinos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trevinos Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Trevinos Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trevinos Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.