We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar

The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
335 Halswell Road, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
0064 3 322 1224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 575 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner when family visited from overseas and enjoyed it. We sat in the sun room, which was lovely. The service was excellent but, although the restaurant wasn't crowded, we waited quite a long time for our our meals. We found the meals to be slightly pricey but very good. The desserts, however, were not worth the calories. All in all, very enjoyable and we will be going back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too much for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The location and atmosphere at this restaurant is lovely however the food and prices do not make it a worthwhile experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Lovely setting, nicely refurbished but pricey. We have had breakfast here a few times and it is nothing special yet the prices are ridiculously high. Would by-pass this place and head straight out to the Rasberry café in Tai Tapu, Better food at a more reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed, again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I came here again for a work do not too long ago.

Poor choices of beer on tap.

Food was a rip-off, $28 for a very small poorly portioned platter of food in the middle, ended up just ordering wedges after that, witch were slightly undercooked and enough sauce for maybe 1/2 the bowl.

Outdoor seating was nice and atmosphere was excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I ordered the Angus burger from the 'favourites' part of the menu and I've never had such a badly put together beef burger ever, with cold old bun, one piece of lettuce and beet root and two small over cooked under flavoured beef patties.

Also extremely over priced at $23 for burger and wedges.

My wife's meal was also terrible and missing things listed from the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Vicarage Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.