We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & reasonably priced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brickworks

The Brickworks
69 Centaurus Road, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
(03) 337 2227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #230 of 602 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food & reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here after reading about it in a magazine. Both the fish and lamb salads were very good - virtually nothing left on either plate :-). It was a nice sunny afternoon and ate outside in a nice sheltered courtyard. This is kind of a cross between a pub-tavern and a pub-restaurant and is modern both inside and out. The food was good and I would eat here again if I was in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went has a family. The food was great the Pork Belly was tender as was my daughters lamb. The wait staff were attentive without being intrusive. I have recommended to this to family and friends and will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went to this resturant recently with friends who had said that they had been there several times before and had both a good and average experience. This is a local bar/resturant which I didn't realise had a resturant like they have and thought it was a more bar meal place. I was pleasantly surprised with my experience and the menu was good and the service and food was above average. I would visit again as its local and spaceous with a great outdoor area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Food was very, very good. Service great. Pleasant surroundings. It was a little noisy, but then it is a popular place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ate twice here in December 2012 and it does what it sets out to do, good food at reasonable prices with a touch of flair in presentation and friendly hardworking staff. Would like to return in better weather and enjoy the outside ambience. Busy pub so not a quiet venue and would be good idea to relocate TV screen from restaurant end to bar?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brickworks also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Brickworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brickworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.