We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we wanted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spagalimis Pizza Restaurant

Spagalimis Pizza Restaurant
155 Victoria St, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
0800 113 113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #202 of 579 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Spagalimis Pizzeria is the oldest restaurant in Christchurch.Spagalimis was first opened in may 1978 at the corner of Colombo and Kilmore Streets, Christchurch. Initially the restaurant had eight tables, seating approximately 44 persons, with only seven employees, and takeaways available.Due to the very consistent and quality product, demand increased until at peak periods we were unable to satisfy demand. So in may 1991, after an exhaustive search for the correct site, we opened at 155 Victoria Street, Christchurch. This restaurant seats over 130 people and offers dine in, pick up and delivery services.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

At the end of a long day, returning our rented camper, we wanted simplicity and to relax. This place was recommended, within walking distance, and we found exactly what we wanted - relaxed service and very reasonable quality and value for money. A Wednesday night so not packed out, but lively enough. We would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Kai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Prompt service, cheerful service. We were in a hurry, staff not fazed, just got the food to us quickly. The pizza was hot thick and so tasty. Can't wait for my next visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Really disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to celebrate a birthday, service was slow and the pizza was little better than a supermarket gourmet product. Expensive for what we got.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zorba155, Owner at Spagalimis Pizza Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Spanners67,

We are disappointed as well that your experience was not what it should have been. So we can get to the bottom of the problem can you please tell us what night you were in and at what time? We would really like to put this right for you and appreciate your feedback as this helps us to fix the problem . Please email on info@spagalimis.co.nz. We would really like to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Long term favourite pizza but recent decline in quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I must begin by saying that Spagalimis has been a favourite of mine from childhood! The pizza is unlike any other available in New Zealand. The toppings are fresh and abundant (sometimes at the expense of the cheese) and the flavour options diverse. My all-time favourite is the Hawaiian which has a huge volume of crushed pineapple and crumbled bacon/ham - not at all like the processed cubes on other takeaway pizza! However, they also have a lovely apricot chicken and some interesting flavours like Canterbury Lamb - basically a roast on a pizza complete with mint sauce!

My concern is that whilst Spagalimis remains relatively pricey as pizza goes, the quality more recently has started to decline. The toppings and base remain much the same in essence, however there seems to be less care in making the pizzas. On our most recent trip the bases (and toppings too) were significantly undercooked and the toppings more sparse and unevenly distributed. I wonder if having branched out into a franchise that management has had a more hands off approach resulting in the teenagers that staff the place caring less? It is a shame because Spagalimis has been a Christchurch staple for many years. I still recommend giving it a try at least once!

(In addition - I suggest buying an Uno Card if you intend on eating there more than once. It costs $20 but comes with a $20 voucher and heavily subsidises the food making it much more affordable)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty but more for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Tasty pizza though more like a pie with no lid ... Sad green salad, just a plate of leaves with an unripe tomato sliced up. The salad was cheapish but left us feeling this was a great place for kids & people who don't like veges. Overall good flavours but more for families than those who like really good food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spagalimis Pizza Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Spagalimis Pizza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spagalimis Pizza Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.