We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pattersons Restaurant & Bar

Pattersons Restaurant & Bar
449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
(03) 358 8129
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 519 restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Temuka, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Fine dining and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were very well looked after at dinner, by Carmen, a delightful young lady. A very enjoyable experience, our son and grand daughter were impressed. Our breakfast was also impressive. Certainly would recommend to friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    22
    23
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new zealand
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“MORE THAN ADEQUATE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Other than the dessert menu which is a bit sad the rest of the menu is very good. Wine list was okay and had no problem getting a good dessert wine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very good menu,lots of choices,good wine list,outstanding friendly staff and big meal portions.
I almost couldn't finish there was so much and it was well cooked and presented

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food great Manager not”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We always enjoy our meals at the Patterson the portions are not skimpy and always fresh
Imagine my embarassment when accosted by the manager after leaving the table to stand up because of a medical condition and being asked if i intended to pay for the meal when my belongings and husband were still at the table
This was handled very well by the Hotel management but should not have happened in the first place!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Copthorne Commodore and had breakfast twice at Patterson's and room service for dinner one evening. Both continental and cooked buffets have good selection and are regularly stocked. Great stewed rhubarb, fresh sunflower seed and barley loaf, and nice, strong flat white. I do think the sausages and tomatoes should be in different bain maries on the buffet - a vegetarian wouldn't know if someone used the tongs to pick up sausages or tomatoes - move the bacon with the sausage and the tomatoes with the hash browns please!
We ordered the seafood chowder and fish and chips for dinner via room service. Quick, prompt service - polite on the phone. Definitely get a bread roll or two to mop up the chowder, yum ;) Fish was tasty, only wished I had tomato sauce for my chips but the tartar sauce was a good second. Next time we stay we won't hesitate to eat there again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pattersons Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pattersons Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pattersons Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.