We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Coffee at Riccarton Rd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ground Floor Cafe

Ground Floor Cafe
47 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
(03) 343 0048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 576 Restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Coffee at Riccarton Rd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Heard good things about this place. Good to find out it's all true. Coffee was excellent. Atmosphere was nice and inviting. White choclolate raspberry muffin was soft and tasty. Pesto adds extra favor to the Salmon bagel. Service was pretty good too. Worth coming.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

For the second in a row had breakfast their 1st was Eggs Benedict fabulous 2nd day Mince on toast awesome, the coffees are to die for I certainly enjoyed it (Latte')
The service is impeccable pity the Aussies can't do it as well (nowhere near it) overall awesome

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Early am option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not many cafes in Christchurch seems to open early and right on 7am this one does. Don't be too much after 7 or tables fill up and then traffic builds by 8 so escaping to the office is a challenge. Savoury mince on toast is highly recommended by my colleagues!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“BIGGEST SURPRISE ON RICCARTON ROAD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Top value lunch here at the GFC on a recent day off. The welcome and bright cheerful manner of the staff is a real bonus at this cafe, that you could easily rush past without knowing it was there. My BLAT was just the best ever - plenty of cruchy bacon and guacamole, even for a generous portion for both pieces of turkish bread which formed the sandwich.. The pleasant young waiter helped me choose my lunch as the menu is so attractive it's hard to know what to choose! My partner's eggs benedict was also of a very good standard although not quite the five stars of my BLAt. Once again the staff happily accepted a few comments about the eggs and expressed their appreciation of the feedback we gave them.The coffee to finish lunch was top notch and arrived exactly when required. Ive been past this cafe dozens of times - it's a shame it's in such a busy traffic location rather than one that has busy foot traffic. It's a definite return to work out way down the menu at GFC

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Definitely worth a stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great value breakfast here, we ordered here several times on our trip and were always greeted at the door and helped out in any way possible. Food was great, prompt, and good value. Service was spot on, as we've come to expect from NZ eateries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Floor Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ground Floor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ground Floor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.