We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was very bland.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bealey's Speights Ale House

Bealey's Speights Ale House
263 Bealey Ave, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
(03) 366 9958
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 658 Restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cristchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was very bland.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had lamb shanks, tasteless and potato had strange taste.
Best Speights Ale House I have tried is Dunedin NZ.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    86
    37
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Kiwi food with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had the gourmet chicken burger for lunch, very good value for money and great service.
This restaurant and bar is very popular and always has a great relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Beautiful food. Large portions though so go there hungry. Tasty beers on tap. Good value. Well worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Meal & Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We went on a Friday night in November. We did try to book but there were no tables but were informed we may get a table in the bar so we took the risk. Glad we did, when we got there we managed to get seats in the bar but on enquiring in the restaurant we were told that there should be a table available in about 20 minutes so we decided to wait. The food was excellent and freshly cooked. I had the blue cod and chips which was the best fish and chips I had for ages. The beers were also very good. Would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and Drinks Night Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went for dinner and drinks. Service was terrible and wasn't that busy at the bar. Also 1 of the Bouncer's was why to over friendly. Not appropriate behaviour from a Bouncer. Our table wasn't cleared and we did it ourselves. The Nacho's were tasty altho they didn't follow orders by not putting sour cream and guacamole the side and also my friend got the complete wrong order. Wasn't very good at all overall. Had much better experiences there I have to say.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bealey's Speights Ale House also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bealey's Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bealey's Speights Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.