We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located to the city of Christchurch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtesy Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Courtesy Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtesy Court Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   33 Sherborne Street, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Berry, NSW
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Centrally located to the city of Christchurch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A one night stay in a very pleasant, modern and clean motel room with kitchenette and lots of parking. It was only a few minutes walk into the city from the motel. We dined at Little India, Merivale, which was only a couple of minutes drive away. The wifi was free, which is always a bonus. It is sad to see the city of Christchurch so devastated. It will obviously take some time to recover financially from the effects of the earthquake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
36
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only made reservations here because of its proximity with Intercity Station. However, we were more than impressed by the place.

The room was clean, modern, and large. The location was very convenient. And we even got free, unlimited fi-wi, which is quite rare in NZ. Overall, great value for price, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Kitchen was very clean with a good amount and assortment of utensils. Bathroom was nice and clean. Bedroom area was spacious, the bed was comfortable and felt clean. TV was large and had a decent amount of channels, and wifi internet was included and hassle free. Walkable distance to CBD and they lent us an umbrella because it was raining. Overall I would say good value for money. Did have a musty smell though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was our last stay in a short tour of the South Island and we were so disappointed. We arrived with friends and had made our bookings a lot earlier through the AA together, but were given rooms nowhere near each other in fact in separate buildings. The rooms were dark and pokey, and smelled musty, in fact so bad we had to sleep with the window open. The bathroom on the upper floor was very tiny. The towel rail which should have been a heated one had the switch removed and taped over so we couldn't have warm towels, this was also the case in our friends room. When our companions discovered she had no milk in her fridge and went to the manager for some, he did not believe her and she almost had to beg for milk.

We would not recommend this motel to anyone, even if Christchurch is short of accommodation at the moment this motel was below standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a short stay here arriving about 6pm and leaving early in the morning for the Transalpine train. The host was helpful and gave us advice on catching a taxi to the train station in the morning. Fresh milk in the fridge for tea and biscuits were nice touches. The room is quite spacious with fairly basic fittings. We planned to walk to the casino for dinner but stumbled onto the Thai container restaurant which has great food. Children playing downstairs were pleasant and not noisy once it got dark, our taxi driver explained that some families are staying in motels for several days or weeks while their homes are repaired following the earthquake .
The motel is convenient and provides modest accommodation .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this motel on 13th March 2013 for one night. We found that the motel owner was not courteous unlike the name of the motel he runs in fact he was quite unfriendly. Free internet was promised but the motel owner insisted to enter the password in my device himself which I found was gross. The motel room was dated and really tiny and the kitchen was very basic. One would have expected Christchurch (still rebuilding from the earthquake) people to be friendly and welcoming to attract more tourist activity. However contrary to that, this motel owner showed no interest in helping out us as tourists in a new place.

If you cannot find a suitable motel then this is an option but definitely don’t keep it on top of your list when booking motels in Christchurch. We would hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground level, this will be handy if you have plenty of luggage as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our absolutely amazing NZ trip and were really let down by this motel's service. We chose to stay here with a packaged trip and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the room, which was really great no questions asked, the room was very clean tidy, had a small kitchenette and a very modern bathroom with a seperate shower stall. The room itself was very nicely decorated.

What was the biggest CON of this place is the owner - it's this chinese man who is Very RUDE to say the least. We had asked for an early check-in but when we reached the place he just denied and pointed to a paper stuck on the wall which said check in at so-n-so time, did not want to listen to anything we had to say, so left with no choice we said ok pls keep our bags here and we will come back in a while to check in, but no he refused to even look after our bags!!! So we just had to WAIT the duration out in the so-called reception area which did not even have 2 chairs and ofcourse there was NO COURTESY shown. Our misery did not end here, next day when we asked him to give us some food delivery numbers or directions to a certain place - the guy made ZERO effort and just shunned us away. And this Ridiculous behaviour continued to the day we were checking out, where again he refused to look after our bags or extend our check-out time!!! Absolutely spoiled the end of our trip for us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtesy Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtesy Court Motel

Address: 33 Sherborne Street, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtesy Court Motel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtesy Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtesy Court Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtesy Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.