We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Christchurch to your Saves list
Ibis Christchurch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%!
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Tannum Sands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights 24-27 August and could not fault the Ibis. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were on the 7th floor and the view at night to the west with all the lights was beautiful. Perfect location central to everything and the restaurant was amazing. All main meals were $20 and the Rib Eye steak was the best I have ever had,cooked to perfection each time. Congratulations Ibis we will stay again,see you next year.(Just a shame about the NW winds closing all the ski fields) still we had a great time in Christchurch. Hired a car instead of going to the snow and drove all day,out to Arthur's Pass and back through Methven even up to Mt Cheeseman as far as a 2WD would allow,made a snowball etc etc.(Can't come all the way from Queensland and not touch snow).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    241
    118
    26
    8
See reviews for
75
205
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Upon booking, we were not told that we would be charged an additional "deposit" and when questioned, reception told us that this was standard practice in case of damage to the rooms etc. But on checkout, the hotel staff did not even review our room and just gave our deposit back, so we were $100 out of pocket for our night out and they didnt even bother to check if we threw the tv out the window or whatever they thought we would do. On checkin, we were told they did not have a car park and that if we parked on the street we would not have to pay for parking until Monday as parking was free on weekends. That was not the case. We were clamped and had to pay $120 just to get it off. When we spoke to reception about this, the same people were not there and the man informed us that yes, they do have a car park, and no, none of the staff there would say that. So basically calling us liars. The walls are paper thin, we received a noise complaint from across the hall while we were discussing the parking situation (?!). It is a pain that you need card access to use the lights in the room. The room was a small size but comfortable, as were the beds. The view was of a wall and windows looking into a office. As a non-smoking hotel, we were using the bar and restaurants terrace to smoke on, until the bar closed leaving us only the street below to smoke, which was horrible as all the people from the local bars and clubs were walking past spitting on the ground, yelling etc. They did exchange one of our rooms for a room adjoining our friends room, which was good. The buffet breakfast was excellent, and the host in the restaurant was amazing. When we left our room to checkout, we were near two of the room attendants who were complaining about other staff and making rude comments about other guests and the states of their rooms, and general speculation as to what these guests had been up to the night before. It was totally unprofessional and they did not stop when they saw the four of us standing there waiting for the elevator. There were also horrible marks on the walls of both rooms which we took photos of when we arrived, so as to not lose our deposit for marks that existed prior to our checkin. We stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a close friend of mine who works there, but we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Great hotel in central Christchurch. Clean, comfortable rooms close to all the attractions. Would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

The Ibis Christchurch is an ideal, no frills base in the heart of Christchurch, New Zealand. Backing onto Cathedral Square, it's a jandal-throw from the city's top dining and shopping hotspots, as well as its arts and entertainment centres. Not resting on its laurels, the Ibis also provided us with spotless rooms on the two occasions we stayed there. Yes, the rooms are on the small side and do not have all the mod-cons of a more sophisticated hotel, however it is more than sufficient for a flying visit such as the stopover between flights that we enjoyed.

Perhaps most reassuringly to the prospective guest is that the beds at the Ibis are excellent. Despite the coziness of the standard rooms, each contains two spacious and high-quality double beds, offering a great night's sleep. I enjoyed the best nights of rest all vacation at the Ibis Christchurch, despite staying at a more high-end hotel for the remainder of my stay in New Zealand.

The bathrooms too are also on the small side, each with a shower and approximating a closet. However once again, they're immaculately well-kept, with clean, white surfaces and come complete with a hair-dryer and some toiletries.

Finally, the service is professional and discreet, however the staff are more than happy to arrange transfers, answer questions regarding local attractions and inform you of what's available at the hotel's bar and restaurant.

Overall, a very pleasant (albeit short) stay at the Ibis Christchurch and highly recommended to business and leisure travellers who don't put a premium on the room size or facilities provided by their hotel of choice. Simply, the cleanliness of the rooms is difficult to rival. However, I would not recommend the Ibis' standard rooms to those likely to suffer a dose of cabin fever, nor those with children in tow. The Ibis Christchurch is a pragmatic choice with good-value rooms, however no-frills isn't for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

right in centre of christchurch
great value for money

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Me and my two mates stayed in a triple room at this hotel. We paid $140 NZD per night for the room consisting of three single beds, which was ideal for us, as this bedding configuration was pretty difficult to find. Stayed there for three nights, and we were very impressed by the service and helpfulness of the staff. The room was spotless, and the location was excellent, right in the CBD near Cathedral Square. Even with this central location, the hotel was very quiet and we didn't hear any noise from outside or other rooms. The temperature inside the hotel was very comfortable, the shower worked well, great tv reception and movies were available for purchase. The only drawback to the room was its size. There was very limited space to move. However, this was not an issue for us, as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room and were happy to sit on our beds.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

For NZ$99/night, you can't go wrong with this place. The hotel is only a couple of years old so is in like new condition. The room was average size by North American standards. However, the bathroom was small with only a shower. We had a corner room on the 7th floor with a nice city view towards Littleton Harbour. This hotel is only a block away from the square. There are a a wide variety of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I would not recommend eating in the hotel though. There are better choices nearby including a breakfast restaurant across the street. Internet pricing is high, however, this seems to be par for the course in New Zealand since their price wasw similar to what I found in other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.