We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Christchurch to your Saves list
Ibis Christchurch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #72 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Stayed 1 night 31 Jan '09 before leaving on a South Island tour. Booked direct online NZ$99 including breakfast. Room was small but clean and comfortable, had a great view of a wall of the building next door! Breakfast was great, staff at the front desk were helpful. Fantastic location just around the corner from Cathedral Square. It's not 5 star but if you're after a basic hotel room there's certainly nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    274
    142
    30
    10
See reviews for
85
236
69
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights, pretty much a standard Ibis experience, though the restaurant was probably better than average.

Rooms are smallish but OK, especially if it's just a base and you're not there a lot. Beds were comfortable. Everywhere we saw was clean.

Free or inexpensive internetis rare in NZ, and there were a couple of terminals in reception costing $5 for 30 minutes, but wireless access in the room was ridiculous. It cost us $6 for under 5 minutes, just to check our Hotmail and look-up a phone number. Avoid!

All-in-all I would stay here again as the location is good - a stone's throw from Cathedral Square - and there's plenty to do in Christchurch, an attractive city.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Very convenient for Cathedral Square, Arts centre, shopping and all city sites. We were on the 7th floor in a very clean modern room which was quite snug, but superb value. The staff on the reception desk were very helpful and efficient - more than those at the tourist centre. We used the Boardroom opposite for very good coffee and Drexels for excellent breakfasts - but do book at weekends. No noise in the room, but no view either.

  • Liked — Value and convenience
  • Disliked — Lack of view from room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed here for five nights.Check in was smooth, we booked on line through airline site. Room faced Hereford St on the seventh floor. Heard no noise from the street below. Were woken up on first night from party in next room, rang reception and less than 5 minutes later it was quiet.Room was clean and serviced every day, Reception staff were very helpful. Overall a very pleasant stay. The Art centre is 5 mins walk away, Catheral Sqaure around the corner, Gardens and Parks, just beautiful to walk through, for the more adventurous The balloon ride was awesome. Though be prepared for a 4 am start.A hint. If you take a bus to say Lyttleton,The Gondolas, Sumner, anywhere if you use the ticket within two hrs the ride back is free. Fare is $ 2.60 for adults.Christchurch rocks..............

  • Liked — Location, cleaniness
  • Disliked — The hordes of tourist groups
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

For us the IBIS was a wonderful find. Although the room and bathroom were rather small, they were spotlessly clean, the power shower was excellent and the telephone in the room was very handy. The only downside was that our room faced the main road and the loud voices from the street did keep me awake for most of the night, so make sure you ask for an inside room. Putting it in perspective, we had adequate and clean accommodation only a couple of minutes' walk from the centre for the lowest rate we paid at any of the 12 places we stayed at during our tour of New Zealand. The Reception staff were efficient, friendly and always willing to help. The 24-hour laundry facilities in the basement were excellent and inexpensive. We did have breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was very good, however, nothing can beat Dexters across the road for breakfast. Dinner at the Palazzo del Marinaio, in the arcade across the road, was an experience not to be missed. Just make sure that you book a table as both places are very popular. Portofino, a restaurant by the river a short walk away serves the best pizza & pasta you are likely to have anywhere.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

Having been a travel agent for almost 30 years in the USA, I'm very picky about my hotels. If this hotel had the amenities of a larger posh hotel it would be rated 4 stars. The location is absolutely the best. It was only about 100 feet from the front door to Cathederal Square. We quite frequently returned to our hotel to unload our purchases and have a cup a coffee in our room before venturing out again. This could be a major plus for families with small children who get tired easily. The rooms are very modern. For those used to the larger rooms in the US, it may feel a little small but it was very functional. I would recommend getting a city view room. We had a slight mixup at check-in and our first room was facing the wall of the building next door. I gotta say it was really drab.

The staff was very professional and friendly. The security is very good. We are smokers and had to go out to smoke, sometimes quite late at night. The front desk has the doors locked at night and opens it from their desk when they see a guest they know trying to get in or if they have a guest arriving.

My next visit to Christchurch, I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location & Quality
  • Disliked — No Microwave
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Great value for money. Right in the heart of the city, yet priced reasonably. Room was clean and modernly furnished. Breakfast spread was good. Staff were friendly.

Comfortable for my family of 4.

Was on the 8th Floor. Splendid view as our room was high enough to face the hills and not the shops across the street.

  • Liked — Friendly staff. Good location. Great value.
  • Disliked — No parking space onsite.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.