We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anselm House
Save
You added Anselm House to your Saves list
34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Anselm House is an absolute gem, ranking with our best B&B experiences worldwide. Jan and Leigh are the perfect hosts and their house and garden are just beautiful. It's also situated a lovey walk from the city centre through the botanical gardens, or if you don't want to do that, buses run constantly and easily to the centre.
We had the lovely relaxing River Room with huge sunny windows overlooking a beautiful river and the garden and a lovely ensuite with a luxuriously deep bath and separate shower.
Leigh kindly picked us up from the campervan depot and then dropped us back at the airport the next morning. This was so kind and such a huge help.
Breakfast was just amazing with perfectly poached eggs and great fresh fruits and yoghurts, set out on a lovely communal table with beautiful collectors crockery.
Nothing was too much trouble for Jan and Leigh and they were so lovely to chat to we felt at home instantly. Their home is spotlessly clean and has a very natural relaxed feel about it and they are always pleased to see you and offer brilliant local advice and yet don't intrude on your plans. There were so many little touches too, like the fresh milk in the guests' fridge and the tea and coffee making facilities. We were very sad to leave this beautiful house, lovely people and amazing, resilient city. We hope to return one day and would defiantly stay at Anselm House.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a great 2 night stay we had with Jan and Leigh. They were great hosts, the room was great with a lovely view of the river and the ducks, breakfast was the best, ("especially thoses pancakes Jan lol)" Yes they may have earthquake damage, but that never stopped them or the accomodation being at it's best. They picked us up at the airport, they dropped us off at the camper van office. We only had BB, in the evening we would go and get some fish and chips down town and eat it down the bottom of the garden, and Jan would go and get plates. Has we had booked a camper for 2 weeks to see some of the south island, Jan even gave us there card with there telephone No on in case we needed help while travelling.Thank you Jan and Leigh for making us so welcome and we never got lost in the camper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We are world travelers who have been to numerous countries and stayed at a wide variety of accommodations from huts in the Amazon jungle to 5 star Caribbean resorts to roadside cabins. Jan and Leigh have a welcoming B&B in a calm garden setting right next to the Avon river. They make you feel like family and are very helpful with suggestions and travel advice. We rented a car and bought a cooler for our 17 day car trip around the perimeter of New Zealand. Jan gave us advice on where to buy our supplies and even dropped me off at the Christchurch Botanic Gardens since it was late afternoon. I spent several hours seeing the roses, hydrangeas, huge heritage trees, and herbaceous plants in full bloom and then walked back about 20 minutes to Anselm House. Very convenient to shopping, city center, gardens and airport. We spent our first and last nights in New Zealand at Anselm House as it was very near the airport. Great hosts, tasty breakfast with fresh fruit and eggs made to order.

Room Tip: Room was on second floor with lots of windows and streaming sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here several years ago, but did not know about Trip Advisor in those days. Could not let another moment go by without writing a review for Leigh and Jan, and their charming Anselm House. We began and ended our trip at their lovely B&B, using it as an "anchor" to our trip to NZ. They were kind enough to share the B&B book with us, and helped us make many reservations for our trip across the South Island. We had never gone to a country without advance reservations, but had been assured that staying in NZ was easier than here in America. That was most certainly the truth. Our breakfasts were wonderful. The garden was a joy during their Spring, and we were delighted with every B&B we stayed at. However, Jan and Leigh started us off on the right foot, and made our trip a delight. Sorry I couldn't write a review right away!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a fantastic find we did have problems finding accommodation in Christchurch due to the earthquakes, but the Tourist Information website was extremely helpful and hence we found Anslem House.
This really is a lovely home from home B&B. Jan kindly picked us up where our tour coach dropped us and made us so welcome. Yes the house does have signs of damage on the outside but it does not distract from what a great home it is.
Very comfortable room and with free WIFI a great bonus in NZ as some hotels charged a fortune. As much tea and coffee as you wanted with plenty of biscuits and fruit as well.
Fabulous breakfast ! The best fresh fruit salad by far that we had down under.
Great location easy walk to find a restaurant and Jan will happily advise you. Next door is Riccarton House and park a lovely place to explore, but no Kiwis at present.
Despite the earthquake damage Christchurch it is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Jan and Leigh,

Took care of us like they were our Aunt and Uncle. I say Aunt and Uncle cause it felt genuine and familiar without being overbearing like parents would be:) The breakfast's were exceptional and the ride to and from the train station was much appreciated. The house does have some cracks from the earthquakes but who cares? It doesn't take away from the experience and I would recommend this B&B to family. The location is great and Jan and Leigh are eager to help in anyway. They display a pride in what they do and like many of the citizen's of Christchurch care very much about their home. A delightful stay! Thank you Jan and Leigh!

Room Tip: Garden Room was very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The house is inevitably showing some signs of earthquake damage but still very comfortable and the friendliness of Leigh and Jan exceptional. Ideal location although the road traffic is slightly intrusive in the early morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acarina, Owner at Anselm House, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Anselm House and for your warm comments. We are delighted you were pleased with our service, but sorry to learn that the traffic noise affected your sleep. The damage caused to the roads during the earthquakes has indeed altered the traffic flow. As the major roads are undergoing reconstruction, every street in Christchurch is experiencing a heavy traffic load at peak hours (between 7 - 9 am and 4 - 6 pm). We are looking forward to the day the traffic returns to normal.
Yes, sadly Anselm House has suffered earthquake damage, as has just about every house in Christchurch. We are satisfied we are still able to offer an inviting, friendly and traditional Christchurch home experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anselm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselm House

Address: 34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features & Attractions: Free personal Airport transfer and TranzAlpine /Coastal transfer— Free Wireless LAN, email available —Secure off-street parking — Short walk to banks, mall, restaurants — Outdoor tables by Avon River — Walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens — Handy to University & Mona Vale — TV in each bedroom — On bus route. Kia ora! Jan and Leigh welcome you to Anselm House, situated on the bank of the Avon River, central Christchurch. Anselm House is a landmark home designed by the famous New Zealand architect Heathcote Helmore and is constructed of pink Hanmer marble in which fossilized shells can be seen. Guests are welcome to enjoy the riverside garden or to cross over the brick bridge and visit historic Riccarton House and Deans Forest. Cathedral Square, The Art Centre, Art Gallery and Museum are an easy walk through Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens. Canterbury University and Mona Vale are also within easy walking distance. As New Zealanders, we offer friendly, genuine kiwi hospitality. We are willing to help with travel suggestions. We are endorsed as KiwiGreen Certified using only eco-friendly products and practices which minimise our carbon footprint. An evening meal is offered by arrangement. Free 24 hour coffee /tea accessible with cookies and seasonal fruit; a fridge is available for guests' use. Tariffs: Doubles from NZ$ 190.00 per night, per couple. Singles from NZ$ 170.00 per night. Longer stays by negotiation. All enquiries are answered within 24 hours. Interests include agriculture, horticulture, medicine, rugby, sport and education. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.