We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bealey Avenue Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bealey Avenue Motel to your Saves list
Bealey Avenue Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   229 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I fully enjoyed my stay. Great place, simple to book at last minute. Tidy warm rooms, Great shower. Great value for the price. We will be back again one day. Thanks alot for a comfortable stay.:) 100 percent happy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clean, comfy, and reasonably well located. Not particularly friendly (probably least friendly owner we met in NZ) and not a lot of room for parking. Not a lot of food options nearby unless you've got a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, warm friendly family run business in a great location. The rooms were very clean everything you would need for your stay is in it. The rooms are very spacious with a little kitchen area! Would reccomond to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very reasonably priced clean motel near the hub of Christchurch, due to the lack of beds prices seem to have increased but this one has stayed reasonable. The room is ideal with everything you need, plenty of parking with up to date fixtures...

Room Tip: I have stayed a few times and each time in a different room and they are all very good quality for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After travelling from the Westcoast to take my sick elderly father to hospital, I phoned this motel and booked a room. I advised the owner I was at the hospital and would be there shortly.
Whilst travelling to the Motel the owner phoned and advised that he had on-sold the room as I had taken longer than 5 minutes to turn up! I was at this time pulling into his driveway!
I went and saw the owner who could not have cared less and was extremely rude to me. The person checking in was at the reception and approaced me saying that the owner laughed about selling the room to him!
The rudest motel owner I have ever encountered!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at Bealy Avenue motel twice during my tour of NZ. The room was clean & comfortable. So was the bathroom. Had a kitchenette & room heater. Free unlimited internet. Parking available. All fixtures & appliances working properly. A couple of times, I couldn't figure out how to work something, I reported it as not working. Management attended to my prob immediately & fixed my problem. Rates are very reasonable. I will recommend this to all.

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narbonne, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Good room and facilities, we even had a little outside area with table and chairs. Nothing special to single it out from other motels. It was quite a distance to the town, for restaurants there were a few close by which were recommended at reception. Christchurch has suffered a lot from the 2010 earthquake and we were shocked by the devastation of the central areas after 2 years. This must have a knock on effect on the amount and quality of accommodation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bealey Avenue Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Avenue Motel

Address: 229 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bealey Avenue Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring free Wi-Fi and on site parking, Bealey Avenue Motel offers accommodation with well-equipped kitchenettes and satellite LED TV. Christchurch city centre is just a 15-minute walk away. All units have cooking facilities with a microwave and refrigerator. Each unit has a private en-suite bathroom. Some units have private courtyards and also interconnecting units are available. A short walk to the Southern Cross Hospital and After Hours Medical Centre. 10-Minute walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens, Christchurch Casino, Christchurch Art Gallery and the Canterbury Museum. Restaurants, bars and Bus stops are situated near the motel. 5-Minute walk to Cafes and Bars on Victoria Street. Christchurch International Airport is a 20-minute drive away. Bealey Avenue Motel also offers dry cleaning and luggage storage facilities. The office hour is 7:30am to 11:30pm everyday. Please advise us if arriving outside these hours. Contact details are available on the confirmation emails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bealey Avenue Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Avenue Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bealey Avenue Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.