We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and gracious hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearview Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clearview Lodge to your Saves list
Clearview Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful house and gracious hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed with Sue and Robin for 3 nights in April and really enjoyed our stay. The house and estate are wonderful, with hosts to match! We didn't get to spend as much time in the house as we would have liked and almost felt that we should cut out any outside excursions and just enjoy the house. It was great fun walking the grounds with Sue while she showed us all the fruits, vegetables, and flowers she grew. Given that our large (8) group included 2 small kids and 2 teenagers, we were a bit tentative about what to expect, but the hosts put us at ease. The hot tub was fun as well, although we didn't have time for the pool.
I went a bit lower on the 'value' largely because it does cost more than a high end hotel, but what you get in return is a whole different experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
65
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed at Clearview Lodge for regrettably only one night, as we were traveling through to Blenheim for the Classic Fighters Air Show.
However, in that time we were made to feel very much at home by both Robin and Sue - beginning with a very welcome afternoon tea with freshly baked homemade cake on our arrival, followed by a luxurious spa in the outdoor pool area to help us unwind from our flight.
We stayed in the beautiful well appointed Braeburn Room which had many special thoughtful touches - from the toweling bath robes to the fruit and chocolate platter, and selection of toiletries. This ground level suite opened out to their lovely outdoor area overlooking the well tended vineyard - source of their delightful Pinot Noir.
Breakfast was a gourmet experience with Robin's perfectly cooked eggs benedict on top of home smoked salmon, followed by Sue's homemade jams and preserves.
We really felt at home with Robin and Sue sitting down to breakfast with us, and chatted as old friends.
We were sad to leave, but will certainly return there the next time we are in Christchurch.
Definitely a wonderful experience and one which we will be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Robin & Sue could not have been more welcoming and helpful as our hosts.

We stayed in the Pinot Room which suited us admirably.

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We first stayed with Sue and Robin in their beautiful home, Clearview Lodge, last year. We had driven from Fox Glacier and were actually quite desperate to find a bed after 8 hours of driving. We are so glad and so fortunate to have stumbled across this lovely place and these fantastics hosts!

We made a point of returning to visit them on our trip this year, even though we had not intended to travel to Christchurch at all. But we wanted to go back and visit .We had such a lovely experience last year. Sue remembered us and gave us the same room we had last year, the Braeburn. The immaculate room is large and beautifully appointed and has a wonderful view of the gardens. The little extras such as fruit, chocolate and luxury toiletries made our stay very enjoyable.

Sue and Robin are the most wonderful hosts.Over a glass (or two) of their fabulous Pinot Noir, we talked about New Zealand, our trip and where we had been and wanted to go. They both gave us fantastic advice and tips and went out of their way to help us. We had a lot of fun and could tell that they really enjoy the role of host. They made us feel right at home.

Breakfast is not to be missed! Between Robin's eggs benedict with salmon and Sue's jams and preserves, it is a true culinary experience. And the nicest part of it is their company at the table. The most amusing part was watching Chester (the cat) chase mice in the garden from the bay window in the kitchen.

We are so glad to have found them, and although they are not centrally located in Christchurch, for anyone looking for wonderful accommodation and great hosts, proximity to the city will not matter. We are already looking forward to staying with them on our next trip to NZ!

  • Liked — Nice hosts, good wine, beautiful room
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Clearview and had a fantastic time with Robin and Sue. Their home is luxurious and spacious and yet you feel trully like one of the family. Nothing is too much trouble and Sue and Robin are always there should you need any help or simply a glass of their wonderful house wine grown in their own vineyard. We looked forward to returning at the end of each day. The children loved the swimming pool, picking fruit with Sue from her many fruit trees and generally being made a fuss of. We would love to go back again.

  • Liked — welcome and hosting
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

After more than 30 years of staying in hotels and small Inns with ratings from minus stars to 5+ and the widest variety of absolutely horrible to top notch B&B's you can imagine this is our #1.

Nothing - absolutely nothing - is overlooked.

Susan and Robin will make you feel so much at home that you will invite them to your home for Christmas dinner! Enormous bed rooms that sparkle .. huge bathrooms with all the special touches .. views to be envied .. every detail thought of, anticipated and answered.

If you do not stay at Clearview Lodge you will miss the small inn experience of a life time.

email me if you want to hear even more raves about this fabulous lodge!
don.brown@brownchild.com

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — There is nothing beyond my recomendation
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop's Stortford Hertfordshire England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

For the attention of Jeannine

We spent our last four nights in New Zealand at Clearview Lodge in December 2005. Our 6 week's visit to New Zealand had included both North and South Islands and we had stayed at Bed and Breakfast accommodation for most of our visit, so we feel confident in saying that Robin and Sue Clements superb home was one of the best we found. The warm welcome we received set the tone of our stay.

Our room was large, airy and had beautiful views of the olive grove at the front of the house and the colourful attractive garden and vineyard to the back. The en-suite bathroom was superbly equipped with both a large shower and a bath and even had under floor heating had we needed it. The lounge, comfortably furnished and containing a comprehensive selection of guide books provided a luxurious haven to relax after a hectic day exploring Christchurch and the adjacent countryside. Robin and Sue were only too pleased to advise us of the best places to visit and to recommend good eating places and using their wide local knowledge and advice we had an unforgettable final 3 days in New Zealand.

We thoroughly enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts (which were delicious) with them, discussing our plans for the day and in the evening chatting to them and sharing our day's experiences over a glass of wine. We left at 5 am in the taxi Robin had ordered and even at this early hour both Robin and Sue came to say farewell to us.

Clearview Lodge is a very special, luxurious but at the same time a warm and comfortable family home and both Robin and Sue successfully ensured that we were made to feel part of the family. Despite the proximity to Christchurch International Airport we were totally undisturbed by any aircraft noise and enjoyed peace and tranquillity throughout our stay and would not hesitate to recommend Clearview Lodge to any of our friends looking for accommodation in the Christchurch area.

NB This recommendation has been sent to you as requested by Jackie Cannon of Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, England.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clearview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Lodge

Address: 8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clearview Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our intimate 5 Star B&B vineyard with just 3 en-suite rooms. Enjoy a glass of our Pinot Noir in peaceful private gardens. A haven to come home to after a busy day exploring Christchurch and Canterbury. Only 15 minutes to Christchurch city centre, less to International Airport. Just off SH1, 40 minutes to Waipara wineries, 90 minutes to Hanmer Springs and Akaroa, 20-30 minutes to Tranzalpine train, Walk to Clearwater Golf Resort, Lakes Restaurant, Kiwi at Willowbank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clearview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.