We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky for us Clearview was available” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clearview Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clearview Lodge to your Saves list
Clearview Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lucky for us Clearview was available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We did not plan to stay at Clearview. We had actually planned to stay in a hotel down the road which got flooded, so that hotel booked us into Clearview Lodge for the night. Very happy that they did.

The hosts were amazing. The house and grounds are impeccable. The breakfast was lovely and homely. I have no hesitation in recommending Clearview to everybody and should we ever be in the vicinity again, that is where we will be staying.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
70
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful vacation to New Zealand. Of all our accommodations Clearview was by far the best. Sue and Robin were terrific hosts and their bed and breakfast lodging was delightful. We arrived late in the day from Kaikora. We were greeted by both hosts and then settled into our extremely clean and comfortable room. We had a beautiful view of the back lawn and vineyards from our balcony. Fresh fruit, cold water and chocolates were placed next to our bed. We visited with Sue and Robin in the public lounge that night and enjoyed some wine and port from their own vineyard. They were extremely helpful in their recommendations of what to do and where to eat in the Christchurch area. Sue called for us to the Curator's House (fabulous food) by the Botanical Gardens to make reservations for the next night. We wanted to celebrate our last night in NZ with our son and his friends and the restaurant was a perfect choice. We would not have been able to eat at the Curator's House on such short notice if it had not been for Sue's call.
Robin's breakfasts were delicious. He asked what we would like to eat and cooked the eggs to perfection. Sue's homemade jams on freshly baked breads were scrumptious. Everything about Clearview Lodge receives a "10 out of 10". I only wish it was closer to Richmond, Virginia!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Margaret and Bruce, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your dinner with Andrew and his friends. I hope Andrew enjoys the rest of his time in New Zealand and maybe you can come and visit again and see some of the places you missed on this trip and come back again to see us. Regards Sue and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I and a friend stayed for 3 nights in February 2014. I chose this location because I had been very impressed on a previous, solo, visit the year before. I was not disappointed. Robin and Sue were marvellous hosts who made us feel like part of their family. Their home is a magnificent property of which they are, justifiably, very proud. and they did everything to make us feel comfortable in it. I will certainly want to return aagain and will recommend it to anyone without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
David, Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. It was really nice to see you again. I hope you got to visit the Museum in Waiouru as we discussed. Please remember to contact me when you plan to come back again and I will check to see if the Akaroa Museum has the display open which you wanted to see. Regards Sue and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at Clearview for four nights over two visits. Sue and Robin were such gracious hosts, providing a great location, very warm and inviting. They went above and beyond in so many ways to make our stay at Christchurch so special, from helping with dietary requirements to recommendations for where to go to in Christchurch and the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend the Lodge to friends and family as a great location to visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Gordon and Jeanette, Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoyed your train trip to the West Coast. We really enjoy when guests stay with us and then come back later in their holiday and we hear all about the things you most enjoyed. I'm glad you enjoyed the Zuchini slice as I haven't made with gluten free flour before but now I know it works well, I will use it again. Regards Sue and Robin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 days and was great. Sue and Robin were excellent hosts. Beautiful property and convenient to the city. Dinner suggestions were good and very convenient to the airport. Would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

After a busy 11 days of traveling across New Zealand, our travel agent in her wisdom ended our trip in the perfect location. The accommodations at the Clearview Lodge provided us a warm and inviting atmosphere which allowed us to unwind before our next destination. Sue and Robin were quite gracious as hosts. They advised on where to visit, where to eat, how to get there, and made the calls to get us connected. They also spent time with us talking, telling us about New Zealand and about themselves and their vision for their lodge. They also shared how they intentionally bought the land with the intention of making it a bed and breakfast along with a living quarter for themselves. The lodge is stunningly beautiful and provides a haven to hid the busyness of the city. I would highly recommend this lodge if you're anywhere near Christchurch.

Room Tip: This is a perfect location if you want to unwind and relax, but still be close to the action. Robin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
etypejaguar, Owner at Clearview Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Frank and Lisa,
Thanks for taking the time to write to us. We hope you enjoyed your anniversary trip to New Zealand. 25 years is something to be proud of.
God bless.

Regards Sue and Robin.

Sue and Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Clearview Lodge prior to our return flight to Japan. The lodge located less than 10 minutes drive from Christchurch airport, so it was convenient for international tourists like us. It was a wonderful B&B. Sue and Robin were quite warm and open. They helped us arranging local tour, diner, taxi and so on. The Lodge was beautiful and quiet, surrounded by vineyard, orchard and flower garden. Sue kindly guided us around her garden telling a lot about her plants. We wish we could stay again with Sue and Robin!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clearview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearview Lodge

Address: 8 Clearwater Avenue | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Clearview Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our intimate 5 Star vineyard B&B with just 3 en-suite rooms. Enjoy a glass of our Pinot Noir in peaceful private gardens. A haven to come home to after a busy day exploring Christchurch and Canterbury. Only 15 minutes to Christchurch city centre, less to International Airport. Just off SH1, 40 minutes to Waipara wineries, 90 minutes to Hanmer Springs and Akaroa, 20-30 minutes to Tranzalpine train, Walk to Clearwater Golf Resort, Lakes Restaurant, Kiwi at Willowbank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Clearview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clearview Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.