We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These are really nice people who run a clean, quiet, first-class motel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashleigh Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Ashleigh Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Minnesota
1 review
“These are really nice people who run a clean, quiet, first-class motel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

When we need a motel, we look for a good location with rooms that are very clean, very quiet, and decently priced. The Ashleigh Court Motel in Christchurch was just that -- a quiet neighborhood, lovely garden, spotless room, and a really comfy mattress, all at good value. Now add in the extras: the dishes and utensils useful for a little meal prep, tea (for me) and hot chocolate (for my husband), and the little container of cookies and the bottle of milk left in our room that tasted so great at 1:00 in the morning when we finally arrived from the airport (no problem with late arrival). But beyond all of that is contagiously friendly Steve who was such a delight to chat with, get travel advice from, and have translate any quirky Kiwi terms we were scratching our heads over. I mean, here’s the kind of guy who is happy to come out after dark to point out the Southern Cross in the night sky for a couple of northerners, or help curious tourists spot a little nocturnal hedgehog in the garden. Thanks Sue and Steve –- you are really nice people and run a first-class motel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    65
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
74
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Sue and Steve couldn't have been more helpful. Organised a Taxi for 6 of us to go and see Cliff Richards. Helped us with ordering our meal and advised us of a great place for breakfast..
The accommodation was just great, quiet, spacious, spotlessly clean, an amazing shower, everything you could ask for.
Will stay again that is for sure.
Thankyou Sue and Steve

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Our stay was excellent. Sue & Steve were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. They were very helpful. The Unit we were is was very comfortable and we will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We would like to thank Sue and Steve for their hospitality, friendliness and help during our short stay in Christchurch. The Motel is in a lovely setting close to the City Centre, local shops and parks. The arrangements that Sue made to celebrate a Birthday were excellent and will always be remembered. Many thanks and if we are ever in Christchurch again we know where we will be staying.
John Julia Sheila and Tony

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Our two-night stay was excellent. Steve was extremely helpful in advising us on where to eat and giving us vouchers to help with the cost. Sue was most concerned when we had a slight medical problem and did all she could to alleviate it. The room was spacious and well appointed, and the breakfasts were large and wholesome and beautifully presented - well woth the $10 charge. Two very freindly hosts.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on a Friday and Saturday night. The apartment was a good size with a spacious new bathroom and comfortable beds. Although the buildings aren't new, the furnishings and decor were modern and comfortable. The motel is surrounded by lovely residential homes in a quiet established street, all within walking distance to local shopping and a 30 minute walk to Cathedral square. We would definitely stay again, thanks.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We stayed with a 9 month old for 3 nights in a studio apartment and the best thing about this motel was the hosts, Sue and Steve. Nothing was too much trouble, and Steve provided us with plenty of information on things to do and see around Christchurch. The location is good - very close to parks as well as several restaurants on Riccarton Rd within 1km (although the apartments have a kitchen if you want to eat in). Its a nice quiet motel, that is well looked after and we would definitely stay again in future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashleigh Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.