We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real homely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashleigh Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Ashleigh Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ashleigh Court Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 139 hotels in Christchurch
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real homely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed just one night there in November and loved the room and friendly service. Room was very well-equipped with microwave, crockery, cutlery etc and a very nice 'welcoming' touch of biscuits and chocolates for guests in the room. Breakfast was very reasonable and hearty. The room was comfortable too. Location is quiet however within easy walking distance of restaurants, shopping mall and Botanical Gardens in Christchurch. Greg and Frances were very welcoming hosts. Excellent and highly recommended. :)

Room Tip: Majority of rooms I saw were at ground level so no stairs/lifts needed to take luggage up. May suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    65
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
68
74
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in November. Chose the Ashleigh Court as it is convenient for the station as we were travelling by train (...about a 15 minute walk) and were delighted to find our beautiful 2 bed roomed apartment ( number 11).Of all the places we stayed on our trip this has to be the best equipped...particularly the kitchen which had a full cooker as well as microwave oven.we even had a second TV in our bedroom! The decor was beautiful, with decent furniture including a full set of drawers and large wardrobe and everything very well maintained.
The motel is situated in a pleasant and quiet residential area just next to Hagley Park but not too far from a handful of eateries and supermarket on Riccarton .The owners were very friendly and could not have been more helpful. We would definitely stay there again should we visit Christchurch in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've stayed at Ashleigh Court three times, while attending school reunions nearby, the last time November 2013. It is comfortable and reasonably priced with very helpful hosts. Easy walking distance to Hagley park, Riccarton Road and restaurants and to Fendalton Road and airport bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had only one night at Ashleigh Court Motel, but would definitely want to stay there again when next in Christchurch. It is located in a pleasant, quiet street in Riccarton, not far from Hagley Park, restaurants and shops. The room where my son and I stayed was tastefully furnished and immaculately clean, and I also liked the well-equipped kitchen. My impression was that the owners took a real pride in their motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a 2 Bedroom Unit with 5 Adults staying for 3 nights, we found the units very quite, despite it being show week and there being a few guest who were obviously exhibitors at the show their movements did not disturb us. The Units were very conveniently located very close to Riccarton Mall and the Park.
The decor was dated but that that is what we expected, the bedrooms and bathroom were larger than most other units we have experienced. The lounge was a little small when the sofa bed was being used but again that is to be expected.The Kitchen was well stocked with enough of everything for at least 6 guest.
It was clean and tidy, there was parking for 3 vehicles in front of our unit and that seemed to be par for all units.
Friendly staff and great value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for one night at the motel. The room was very well-equipped with all the necessary cooking appliances and modern utilities. We had a great home-cooked meal after endless nights of eating out. Its also within close proximity to a variety of restaurants and supermarkets. And yet, the motel is well hidden in a quiet and safe street. Definitely, a well-found hidden treasure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Sarah F
We often stay at Ashleigh Court Motel when we are in Christchurch.It is like a country motel in the middle of the busy city. It is located in a nice housing area with Riccarton Mall, Hagley Park,
and the Central City.It is quiet and you can park right at the door and carry your bags in easily.The rooms are a good size, comfy and clean. The hosts are friendly and helpful. It is a very convenient and easy place to stay.We hope to have many more nights there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashleigh Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh Court Motel

Address: 47 Matai Street West | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#18 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh Court Motel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful sunny motel in a ‘quiet central location’ set in established gardens just 5-minutes walk to Mona Vale Gardens, Riccarton House (Deans Bush) and Hagley Park and 10-12 minutes walk to Restaurants and Westfield Mall (Christchurch’s best shopping centre). Enjoy a walk through Hagley Park to the Arts Centre, Christchurch Tramway, Museum, Botanic Gardens, Art Gallery or the Casino. We are a 5-minute drive to Christchurch Hospital, University of Canterbury and the CBS Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Ashleigh Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh Court Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Ashleigh Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashleigh Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.