We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Manor at Merivale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Merivale Manor to your Saves list
Merivale Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Papanui Rd | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Manor at Merivale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fantastic! We had a very special time at Merivale Manor. Karen and Wayne made sure everything was perfect. We stayed in a gorgeous room in the main manor - spacious and gracious. The decor is welcoming and stylish with lots of special extras. The bed was super comfy & I loved the bed linen, fluffy towels and great breakfast choices. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    80
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
162
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here on our first couple of nights and our last night, ini 2 different types of room: one in the manor house & one studio unit. The studio unit has a jetted tub, and felt great after such long travel. The manor house was lovely, very spacious with a great bath but no jetted tub. Wayne was very helpful, with info on restaurants, coffee bars, and areas to see in Christchurch. It was pricier than we usually pay, but worth it to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here twice on our road trip with my parents - our first day and last day in NZ.
I don't really know where to start - it was just an awesome and refreshing experience!
I have stayed in Christchurch on number of occasions and this has been the best accommodation by far! I have got a really friendly email from Wayne & Karen before our arrival, making arrangements to suit our ridiculously late arrival from Melbourne. In the morning, we've been given extra time before check out so we can have a little lie in and catch up on our sleep. Rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated, full of character and sweet little touches. Very comfortable bed.
On our second stay, yet again we've arrived really late but this time Stella from the reception was actually waiting for us and even stayed behind to arrange for the payment as we had to leave very early to catch our flight.
I love NZ for it's beautiful nature and genuine, friendly, hospitable people - Merivale Manor doesn't disappoint!
Can't wait to return, keep on the amazing work and your smiles - you are making a difference. Priceless!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed in a studio spa bath unit for two nights in October 2013. The unit was spotless and very modern. The kitchenette was well stocked and the spa bath was a welcome luxury. Having stayed in at least half a dozen other motels in the area, I would highly recommend the Merivale Manor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Merivale Manor is beautiful. The hosts Karen & Wayne are so welcoming. The accommodation is first class. We stayed in room 214 just off the front verandah. A quiet room with well equipped kitchenette facilities, and a lovely bathroom. The décor is really very special and is in keeping with the style of the Manor House. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this motel for our first 2 nights in New Zealand. Mike greeted us on our arrival. We arrived before the booking in time so he happily looked after our luggage and suggested where we might go for an hour until our room was ready. The motel is sitauted on a main road into Christchurch and this enabled us to walk everywhere in the city that we wanted to. There was a shopping mall with supermarket 5 minutes walk away which was open until 9pm every day. There was also a pub with a garden which was very relaxing after 32 hours travelling from the UK. Our room in the main building was a little small but was fine for 2 nights. It was spotlessly clean with modern comfortable furniture and fittings. The shower was probably the best I have experienced. in a hotel! A continental breakfast was provided to prepare in our room which was absolutely fine, we particularly enjoyed the toasted muesli. The cooking facilities were good with everything we needed for cooking simple meals, We enjoyed sitting on the balcony of the main building watching the world go by. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. They were happy to chat to us about where we were going on our trip and make suggestions. This motel was a brilliant place to start our holiday and set a high standard for future places to lve up to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The motel is under new management and we were greeted by the new owner on his second day in charge. He could not have been nicer and more friendly. After 30+ hours travel of travel, we were glad to check into our room early (before noon), have a shower, freshen up and drive into Christchurch.
The motel is located on a main road into Christchurch, but not really within walking distance of the city centre. It is very close to shops, a shopping mall, post office/banks to change money and restaurants, all within a 5-10 minute walk. There is a lot within a 10 minute car drive and it is relatively close to the airport. All-in-all a good location.
We had a room in the front section and were concerned about noise from the road. However, since we kept the windows shut at night it was not a problem at all. The front of the room is entirely glass, so not much privacy - the curtains darkened the room well. The room was a little tight, nicely furnished with a large bed and a very nice kitchenette. The bathroom was large and modern. The motel provides cereal and toast for breakfast.
I would highly recommend this motel for a short stay. (Book early, nearly every hotel along this road (there are many) had "no vacancy" signs.)

Room Tip: In Summer, perhaps request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Rd | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#12 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor comprises 10 elegant & luxurious Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom suites. The Manor has been completely renovated in late 2014, following repairs from superficial earthquake damage, and is in pristine condition. A further 8 spa studio units are situated in front of the Manor, with 7 chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups directly across the road. Situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch and reasonably priced, the Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges & Southern Cross & Nurse Maud Hospitals, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. A 20min wander (or a 5min drive) will get you to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport and an ideal base for your Christchurch and Canterbury visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merivale Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.