We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self-contained units with spa bath” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Merivale Manor to your Saves list
Merivale Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Papanui Rd | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent self-contained units with spa bath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed in a studio spa bath unit for two nights in October 2013. The unit was spotless and very modern. The kitchenette was well stocked and the spa bath was a welcome luxury. Having stayed in at least half a dozen other motels in the area, I would highly recommend the Merivale Manor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    65
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
134
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Merivale Manor is beautiful. The hosts Karen & Wayne are so welcoming. The accommodation is first class. We stayed in room 214 just off the front verandah. A quiet room with well equipped kitchenette facilities, and a lovely bathroom. The décor is really very special and is in keeping with the style of the Manor House. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked this motel for our first 2 nights in New Zealand. Mike greeted us on our arrival. We arrived before the booking in time so he happily looked after our luggage and suggested where we might go for an hour until our room was ready. The motel is sitauted on a main road into Christchurch and this enabled us to walk everywhere in the city that we wanted to. There was a shopping mall with supermarket 5 minutes walk away which was open until 9pm every day. There was also a pub with a garden which was very relaxing after 32 hours travelling from the UK. Our room in the main building was a little small but was fine for 2 nights. It was spotlessly clean with modern comfortable furniture and fittings. The shower was probably the best I have experienced. in a hotel! A continental breakfast was provided to prepare in our room which was absolutely fine, we particularly enjoyed the toasted muesli. The cooking facilities were good with everything we needed for cooking simple meals, We enjoyed sitting on the balcony of the main building watching the world go by. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. They were happy to chat to us about where we were going on our trip and make suggestions. This motel was a brilliant place to start our holiday and set a high standard for future places to lve up to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The motel is under new management and we were greeted by the new owner on his second day in charge. He could not have been nicer and more friendly. After 30+ hours travel of travel, we were glad to check into our room early (before noon), have a shower, freshen up and drive into Christchurch.
The motel is located on a main road into Christchurch, but not really within walking distance of the city centre. It is very close to shops, a shopping mall, post office/banks to change money and restaurants, all within a 5-10 minute walk. There is a lot within a 10 minute car drive and it is relatively close to the airport. All-in-all a good location.
We had a room in the front section and were concerned about noise from the road. However, since we kept the windows shut at night it was not a problem at all. The front of the room is entirely glass, so not much privacy - the curtains darkened the room well. The room was a little tight, nicely furnished with a large bed and a very nice kitchenette. The bathroom was large and modern. The motel provides cereal and toast for breakfast.
I would highly recommend this motel for a short stay. (Book early, nearly every hotel along this road (there are many) had "no vacancy" signs.)

Room Tip: In Summer, perhaps request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We are currently staying here for 2 nights to conclude our 16 day NZ holiday. I am confident in saying that this is one of the nicest units/motel rooms we have stayed in during our time in NZ. The room is extremely clean, tidy and modern! Great kitchen which is well equipped with everything that you need, including a two burner stove top. The bathroom is gorgeous. Very clean and roomy. And boy was the spa bath nice and relaxing! I'm laying in the bed right now and that too is comfortable and spacious. Nice fresh, cosy sheets and I love that there is an electric blanket for possible cold nights.

My only suggestion is replacing the current curtains with ones that provide better blockage from the sunlight. It's a little annoying waking up to a sunlit room at 6.30-7am. Also the shower head and pressure provided a fine mist on the outer ring, however the center of the head was completely hollow :(

However despite the two little hiccups, when we return to Christchurch we will be booking with you again :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at Merivale last week while on our honeymoon. Unfortunately we only had one night to visit Christchurch, but would have loved to stay here more than one night. We had the opportunity to meet and chat with the new owners (10th day of ownership) of the property. They are sincere, lovely people that will go out of their way to ensure your stay is as comfortable as can be. The room had everything we needed and more. The property is in a quiet area of Christchurch, yet the center of town is easily accessible via cab or a nice stroll. If you plan to visit Christchurch, Merivale Manor will provide you with all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland N.Z
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here on business for 5 nights in the crossover from old management to new.I was overawed with the quality of the hotel for the value,especially compared to other Christchurch hotels current rocketing tariffs.The suite in the historical but beautifully restored manor had everything needed. Including double glazing(I was surprised at how quiet it was),free unlimited wifi,light breakfast provided and comfortable bed.The hosts were professional and very accommodating. A 2 minute walk down the road, is the high end Merivale shopping precinct which has some great bars,cafes and retail outlets.This will definitely be my choice for accommodation in Christchurch in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Rd | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor has been transformed into 10 elegant, luxurious Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, with 8 spa studio units, all reasonably priced Christchurch accommodation, situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand. We also offer chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups. The Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges Hospital, Nurse Maude Hospital & Hospice, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. Just a 5min drive to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merivale Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.