We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merivale Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Merivale Manor to your Saves list
Merivale Manor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Papanui Rd | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Though we only stayed for 1 night I found this accommodation very nice. The owners were very nice and were very helpful. I had originally booked two nights, however due to Christchurch being pretty much 'closed down' due to the earthquakes I cancelled our second night and drove to Queenstown a day early, and the owners had no problem cancelling our booking. The rooms had everything we needed and the spa was very relaxing. The location is also great, about five min drive into the city and lots of restaurants close by.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    67
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
136
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I chose a room in the Colonial Home, rather than a unit, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The service was great from our hostess Bev, who also arranged for another night at the end of our stay. Will definitely choose to stay there again when we return

Room Tip: Lovely quiet rooms in the Colonial Home, excellent modern showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The Merivale manor was about the only motel where the owners, (Mike and Sam) would tell you to help yourself with milk and bread from the office whenever you run out. Laundry facilities are available complimentary. We had stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms, like the bathrooms are large,spacious and modern. It definitely felt modern and as the other traveller has pointed out was furnished with quality products. The Spa bath (Jacuzzi) was great. My only qualm was with the shower which for whatever reason started acting up on the second day. It would be hot one minute and cold the next without adjustments.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the road as they will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We arrived very late here , got Mike out of bed but he was very helpful and booked us in cheerfully , even booking a taxi for the morning without muttering or complaining. The room was large and airy , the bathroom large and well appointed. Everyhting worked well and we were sorry to leave

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney (formerly Redditch, UK)
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stopped here for 1 night during the Rugby World Cup 2011, found the rooms to be more than adequate, clean and tidy, and enjoyed my spa bath in the morning!!! Staff were friendly and helpful, would stop again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Merivale Manor is one of the best motels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. I stayed for four nights in a Front Spa unit. I was welcomed by the super-friendly and helpful Bev who is looking after the place for the owners who are on holiday in Australia.
The self contained kitchenette and bathroom are of excellent quality and furnishings throughout are of top quality.
I would recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - traffic noise is constant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We picked this motel to start our month long holiday to watch the Rugby in New Zealand and we couldn't have had a better start. On arrival after nearly 2 days travelling from the UK, we were welcomed with friendly and helpful staff. We were handed milk and bread for breakfast and on entering the room cereal was also provided. The room was clean and tidy and well presented with if you wanted you were self contained with all the cooking facilities needed, which included Hob, Microwave and Fridge.
During the 3 days, the staff continued to give help and advise on places to visit and eat and generally couldn't do enough to help. This included looking after our large luggage bags whilst we visited Dunedin for the first match and on return even insisted that we use the bathroom facilities to freshen up before starting our onward road trip around NZ.
We cannot say enough to praise the motel and it's owners and would highly recommend this motel to anyone visiting Christchurch. Tracey & Ian

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merivale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merivale Manor

Address: 122 Papanui Rd | Merivale, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#8 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#10 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#11 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Merivale Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merivale Manor, Christchurch. Originally built in the 1880's, Merivale Manor has been transformed into 10 elegant, luxurious Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom suites, with 8 spa studio units, all reasonably priced Christchurch accommodation, situated at 122 Papanui Road, Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand. We also offer chic 3bdrm townhouse apartment accommodation ideal for families and travelling executive groups. The Manor is in a great location, close to the Merivale village with its premier shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. We are conveniently close to St Georges Hospital, Nurse Maude Hospital & Hospice, St Andrews, Rangi Ruru, St Margaret's and Selwyn House schools. Just a 5min drive to the city centre and a short stroll to Christchurch's beautiful Hagley Park, golf course and Christchurch Casino. Merivale Manor is within easy access by car, taxi or bus to AMI Stadium, CBS Canterbury Arena , Railway Station, Christchurch's International and domestic Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merivale Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merivale Manor Christchurch
Merivale Manor Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merivale Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.