We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cashel Street

Cashel Street
Cashel Street, Christchurch 2004, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 108 Attractions in Christchurch
Type: Malls, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The container city was a great idea to rebuild morale in this city but it is time to move on before it becomes tired

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    88
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Start Up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I expected a little more of the Shipping Container Mall.
It is quite expensive in the area.
Although was great to see the industrial look and practical nature of the shipping containers

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great & fascinating visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

When I visited Christchurch, I was not prepared for seeing those containers transformed into shops. When I reached that street by walking randomly in the city center, I was puzzled at first, then totally fascinated. I would never have thought making shops out of containers could have produced such a nice looking result.

If you visit Christchurch, do go see that street. It is certainly worth the time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ingenious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What a way to re-start - using the usually bland shipping container in brilliant, vibrant colours. The shops here are great, especially the cafes, and the atmosphere is something else.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RE-Start mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Brilliant mall experience in Christchurch after the earthquake. A bunch of stacked containers with a range of beautiful shops inside

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cashel Street also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cashel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cashel Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.