We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   33 Kilmarnock St | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 131 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Ossendrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We only stayed for one night but it was so pleasant that we were sorry to leave so soon. We couldnot have wished us better hosts and felt at home as if we were old friends, which we were not, till then. It was not just the service (which was excellent), but the friendlyness that was most impressing. If we ever would go back to New Zealand, we would certainly visit John and Lesley again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
52
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We enjoyed two nights at this B&B, with friendly and attentive hosts and excellent accommodation. The location is very convenient - close to all important locations - but in a lovely suburb. The B&B was not affected by the earthquake and is well away from the areas that were.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Johnoraro,
Many thanks for your colourful review of our "Greatstay".
We are pleased we fulfilled your requirements and we to enjoyed our time together.
Hopefully you will return when in Christchurch.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Came down to Christchurch to work and was booked into this wonderful B&B. Great location, lovely room and superb hospitality couldn't have asked for more. I was made to feel so welcome and thoroughly enjoyed my stay look forward to the next time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear Annie,
Many thanks for your glowing review.
We are pleased we met your expectations and that you will return.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a very comfortable place to stay. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful. The house is lovely. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Traveller,
John and myself thank you for the review you gave our establishment.
We are pleased to have made you feel that you were "at home" and we enjoyed our time with you.
The earthquakes have not affected us, and we have been busy with the hotels and city establishments being closed.
We would love to hear from you of your holiday in New Zealand when you have time.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Lesley and John are so friendly and they have a great place in a very convenient location. They make you feel like you are visiting with your favorite relatives. The rooms are comfortable and welcoming. They give you a great Kiwi style breakfast every morning, whenever you are ready....no rush. I would highly recommend this unique place to any one visiting Christchurch, especially if you enjoy feeling like you are at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Steve,
What a wonderful 5 star review you have written. We are pleased that you felt so relaxed and comfortable in our home. This is what we have striven for and achieved.
Many thanks, and good luck with your family.
Regards,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

How warm and welcoming John and Leslie made us feel during a recent stay. Apart from their generosity of spirit, both went the extra mile to ensure all 5 of us were well catered for. That tasty breakfast remains with me and left with a heavy heart having to say goodbye. A peaceful and beautifully spacious, well constructed home ( John:) that took great care of us. Thank You. Mem x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Memory,
You are most welcome and we are pleased that we could help you all at the time. What lovely memories we have of the company of you all. Your generosity to us as a team was most appreciated.
Love to see you another time.
Keep well,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I found myself and my collegues at this wonderful B&B. It was actually my first time ever at a B&B as I always prefer Hotel's for business - however, circumstances meant I had no choice this time. With great delight we were greated by 2 amazingly warm, kind and considerate hosts in John and Lesley - it was like staying at home - but being pampered - spacious bedrooms (all with ensuites), your own TV room and a very comfortable bed - our hot breakfast was cooked to our liking and just kept comming - This place is outside the main CBD, so its quiet, safe and inviting - I will never stay in another christchurch hotel and be back to see John and Lesley soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greatstay-TRIP, Owner at Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Jaybee,
Thank you for doing this review for us, and we are also blown away by your generosity to ourselves by you and your team.
We do look forward to seeing you all again when you are in Christchurch.
Best wishes,
Lesley and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation

Address: 33 Kilmarnock St | Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new home offers spacious and comfortable en-suite accommodation, which is quiet and restful.John and myself have sought to create a friendly atmosphere with the accent on luxury "home away from home." 25 Min walk to city centre, art centre and museum through Hagley Park Botanical Gardens. Beautiful walks, golf course and shopping minutes away. Close to Horncastle Arena,Riccarton Bush public hospital, university, airport, railway station and many fine restaurants.We have not been affected with damage by the earthquakes and are very happy to have both business and travelling visitors stay. We have high speed wi-fi .Most businesses are within our area of Riccarton and Addington. O.S.P. "Come as a guest, leave as a friend."SPECIAL: Happy hour with nibbles and host company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greatstay Bed & Breakfast Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.