We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square to your Saves list
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NZ$30 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is still relatively new and the rooms are clean and comfortable and offer some great - if not somber views of the city. This was the most comfortable bed I had on a two week holiday, it was amazing. The staff were really friendly and happy to help with directions, bookings and a few other requirements I had. I had to walk a little way to find restaurants/bars/supermarkets but I was expecting this given Christchurch is still rebuilding. The hotel however, has a restaurant on site and offers room service.
Pretty much exactly what you would expect from a Novotel hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Harasness,

Thank you for your excellent feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you not only found us to be a great hotel, but also enjoyed the cleanliness and our friendly staff. It is great to know that we ticked all the boxes.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    198
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
183
35
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Being on business, this was an excellent choice in the city centre - although a bit eerie due to the lack of nightlife post earthquake. Fresh, clean rooms and caring, thoughtful service. Restaurant and bar at a very high standard. Food at dinner was excellent.

Room Tip: cathedral views were sobering but excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear DDD1958,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be an excellent choice and your continued loyalty is certainly appreciated.

I will share your comments with our team as I am sure this will act as encouragement to all our staff.

Thank you once again. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Newly renovated hotel in the middle of the earthquake damaged area. Modern spacious room with comfortable bed. Room amenities include coffee maker and fridge. Good bath tub shower although the half glass door isn't very functional - inevitably the floor gets splashed. Goof buffet breakfast. The hotel has a small gym.
The area around the hotel seems like a ghost town at night - it's not easy to find a restaurant open late, especially on Monday night.
WiFi is very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear cqfp123,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our newly renovated hotel.

Christchurch is certainly on the bounce back and we too are eagerly awaiting our new city to be completed, albeit will be a while.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and for your support. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Jade at recepetion and Geoffroy ( Duty Manager ) are shining examples of professional staff for the Novotel chain and are a credit to them. Thank you for all your help with my hotel bookings in France ! Its just a pity I didn't get more time to enjoy your lovely hotel in Christchurch. wishing you the very best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Ballinasalmon,

Thank you for sharing your excellent experience at Novotel Christchurch with us. I am truly proud to hear of the exceptional service you were provided by Geoff and Jade. Our staff are our biggest asset and your comments certainly re-iterate this.

Thank you for your best wishes and for your support. I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel stay was very nice, the rooms were spacious and warm. We had an awesome meal in the restaurant. In fact the chef (Sebastian) cooked for us the crayfish and perch we had caught earlier that day on a fishing cruise. It was one of the best meals we ate the entire 4 week trip. The hotel was clean and certainly a gem in the eye of all the devastation. The staff was probably the best though. Andrew, the concierge, who did everything for us. He took our bags, recommend places to go and eat, and seemed to be everywhere in the hotel doing something at some time, was awesome! The rest of the staff was also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Joe D,

Thank you for your excellent feedback and for drawing our attention to the excellent service provided by Sebastian and Andrew. Our staff are our biggest asset and your comments re-iterate the excellent work they do every day. I am extremely pleased to hear of your fishing trip and the meal you subsequently enjoyed with us.

I will share your comments with our team as this will act as encouragement to all of them.

Thank you once again for your excellent feedback. I do hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great nights sleep. Moving experience to stay here as city centre area around us is still so damaged by the earthquake, though people are very positive and trying best to rebuild their city life. Great hairdryer. Wifi limited to 30 mins per day, though there is free use of the pcs in the lobby area. Ate all meals in Re-Start mall area nearby, in Hummingbird cafe which was super food and service. Airport bus No 29 [8 dollars each] delivered us about 4 minutes walk away from the hotel, though we got a shuttle back to airport at a very good price advertised on a card we picked up at the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Stirfry151,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very pleased to hear that you found us to be excellent and thouroughly enjoyed your time in Christchurch.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Lovely new hotel very comfortable room on the 8th floor over looking the very sad remains of the Cathedral. Enjoyed great breakfasts each morning and a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening. Andrew the concierge was extremely friendly, interested in our visit to Christchurch and helped us greatly finding our way around the CBD under rebuild. Good luck Christchurch in your recovery.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl B, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Burnsee,

Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us. I am very pleased to hear that Andrew was extremely helpful and will proudly share your comments with our team. This will certainly act as encouragement to all of them.

Burnsee, thank you once again for your continued support. I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Address: 52 Cathedral Square | Central City, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#28 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself in this new, stylish 4+ star hotel. The Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square (Re-opened 2013) is elegantly positioned along side the original Christchurch Cathedral. The hotel boasts 154 spacious rooms and suites, from modern and contemporary to charming and cozy, everyone will be delighted. All rooms are complimented with the modern day comforts and amenities that one has come to love and expect from this international 4+ star Hotel. Come to Christchurch and experience the style and sophistication of a 4+ star Hotel in Christchurch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.