We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive apartment suite in a great central city location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Christchurch to your Saves list
Quest Christchurch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cathedral Junction 113 Worcester Street | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impressive apartment suite in a great central city location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Excellent two room apartment, well equipped and spacious in the perfect place to explore the beautiful city of Christchurch

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    71
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
37
63
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This place was a dive!!! Where do I start... Paint peeling on the ceiling in the shower, unclean, dining room table still had spilt coffee marks on it, milk left in the fridge from the previous guests, heating was insuffient - oil heater you had to plug in, or tiny fan heater, NO ducted heating, or heat pump!! The on- the-wall heater was soo old it couldn't heat the room, the curtains were so old and were torn, carpets were old and rippling, no tv in the bedroom, pedestal fans for cooling? Stains down the walls. We ended up staying one night (while we organised another hotel) of our 2 week holiday and had to leave. We had also negoitated a long stay rate as we had been staying at another quest prior to Christchurch and once we said we could not stay there any longer, they charged us the higher rate. Very unprofessional!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Travelling with four adults and two young children, we decided to try out the Quest's 3-bedroom apartment. It was a good choice.

The apartment itself was huge, with three large bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, a good kitchen and spacious living areas. It was an interesting novelty having an apartment over two levels - this may be an issue for people with problems climbing stairs.

Furnishings were excellent and there was a wide selection of television. There was no WiFi, but cable connected internet was speedy.

Location is good, within walking distance of anything in the city centre. There are some godo restuarant choices in the immediate area.

Service is as you expect from Quest - friendly, but definitely not that of a hotel. These apartments are for more independent travellers who are looking for a bit more space and none of the frills of 5 star travel.

There was a little city noise in the evening.

Overall, a really good choice in Christchurch and a hotel I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This is a great location to stay in Christchurch, right in the centre, cloe to everything! The rooms are large and well kept. A great stay thanks!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a balcony for two nights and was pleasantly surprised with how comfortable the room was. This self-contained kitchen and laundry was a real plus and I was able to have 3 friends around for a small dinner party before we headed out for a night on the town. The location of this hotel is great...it sits very handily behind the Christchurch Cathedral Square and is adjacent to an atrium that also doubles as a Tram pick-up and drop-off point. I am a good sleeper so I didnt really notice the early morning Tram movements as mentioned in many other reviews despite only being on the 3rd floor and my balcony looking directly over the atrium. I didnt even mind the number of doors you had to unlock to access your room! I think as a paranoid, security conscious traveller I found that aspect quite comforting. The bathroom was sparkly clean and the water pressure in the shower was great! The service was fantastic and the receptionist informed me when I checked in that due to it being ANZAC weekend my room would not be serviced on the sunday so she provided me with extra towels and soaps etc. I have not had positive historical experiences with Quest hotel apartments in other parts of the country so this was a refreshing experience and I will definitely go back again if the price remains as reasonable as it was at that time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Trying to figure this place out is rather like Alice down the rabbit hole. Reception is in one place, you find an alley half a block away to park your car and your room is above the separate annex which is actually a glass ceilinged edifice through which the city trams run. Your entrance to your elevator is a partly hidden door just past the tram shop in the annex. On Saturday night a tram with a restaurant on board stopped right below our room in the annex and all aboard enjoyed a jolly good time.
On the positive side this hotel couldn't be more central being almost literally in Cathedral Square. And, despite the first paragraph, the hotel was pretty darn good. An apartment hotel, we had lots of room, a good size kitchen and all the usual amenities. When we couldn't face another big dinner out we were quite able to prepare something modest in our room. We took the free bus down to the supermarket to get provisions. We were able to get caught up on the washing and ironing. The hotel is very well located for many of the city's restaurants and attractions. We were comfortable, not too disturbed by the downtown noise and generally pleased with the Quest. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat Victoria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Quest was our first spot to stay in the South Island. We were a little apprehensive after staying in Rotorua and Wellington but the Quest Christchurch came shining through! Thanks to Kirk, the receptionist for her over and above customer service. We were the recipients of a fantastic night sleep, great bed, huge lounge, and QUIET!! Amazing given that we were in the central hub of Christchurch. Facilities great, space!!!! what a change, service with a smile! So much so....our last night on the South Island has been re-booked here. Would absolutely recommend for a a quiet and restful night sleep, huge balcony (a balcony is a must for us). Large room so you are not tripping over each other or cases in the middle of the night that are at the foot of your bed. Want central city - quiet and spacious? This is the one!!! Big 5 tick from us...!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Address: Cathedral Junction 113 Worcester Street | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.