We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading and Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Christchurch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Christchurch to your Saves list
Quest Christchurch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cathedral Junction 113 Worcester Street | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Victoria, Australia.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Misleading and Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

We came to NZ for a couple of weeks and spent our last two nights in Christchurch - we selected the Quest apartment because we wanted to stay somewhere special for the end of our holiday.

I booked the bubbly surprise apartment package. When we arrived I was very disappointed. Instead of an apartment I found a basic hotel room without cooking, washing or dishwashing facilities - this is what they call a studio apartment - styled room- but it is really just a very basic, bland hotel room. I was also really disappointed that the 'bottle' of bubbly turned out to be a 200ml bottle, that wasn't chilled (so we could drink it) but left on the bench. Although technically correct, I found the advertising of the 'studio' apartment and 'bottle' of bubbly to be very misleading.

I went to reception and spoke to a staff member there - he was excellent - he listened to my concerns and arranged for us to be moved to another apartment.

I went back to reception to return the keys from the first room and to check whether car parking was included in my package as I had been handed a note to put on the car that had parking charges, and I had booked an accommodation package that included parking. I spoke with the receptionist and she confirmed that parking was included.

We found the apartment to be clean, spacious and we enjoyed the central location. It is frustrating to have so many doors to open to get in and out, and they have this ridiculous noisy fan in the bathroom that stays on for 10 mins after you turn off the lights. It's quite annoying.

Our stay at Quest Christchurch was soured by the rudeness of a Front Office staff member at the time of checkout. We put our luggage in the car and I went to return the keys. I was asked to pay for car parking. I explained that I thought car parking was included in the package. I was advised that it wasn't included in the package and needed to be paid before I could leave. I explained that I had checked with the receptionist and she confirmed that it was included in the package. The staff member rolled her eyes at me and then made a sarcastic comment like 'well then it is included'. I was stunned by her behaviour, her lack of customer service skills and her lack of basic respect. I wrote to the Manager of Quest Christchurch and haven't heard anything in over a week (other than 'thanks I got your email') . It is a great, central location, but be warying of what you book because I found that all is not as it seems.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the staff and the misleading advertising
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    52
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
52
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Quest was the first accomm that we stayed in for our trip. We were there for 2 nights. The studio room is quite small but do-able as we didnt stay in the room very often. Its in an excellent location, very central. Although its in the centre of everything the noise isnt too bad as the windows seem to be double plated. Also have internet for free (in lobby area). Rooms are clean, comfy bed. I would reccommend this hotel for others planning to have a few days in Christchurch. Nice, good hotel. The hotel actually isnt the easiest to find so just keep driving around, parking is in a tiny alleyway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard to find hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

We were impressed with our stay at the Quest during our visit to Christchurch.
The location is really convenient and the one bedroom apartment gave us plenty of room to spread out . The bathroom, although compact, was quite adequate and the bed was a lot more comfortable than some that we have slept in.
The kitchen facilities were good and there was a comfortable sofa and chairs to relax in. We liked the fact that the TV swivelled round to face the dining area so that we coukld catch up on the news while we were having our breakfast.
Two minor quibbles are the fairly basic breakfast that is supplied (but knowing about it in advance we brought some fruit and yoghout with us), and the slow internet in the reception area. It is free, but it took ages to do an online check in for our flight back home.
This was our second stay at the Quest. It is a good economical place to stay at and we are looking forward to coming back next time we are in Christchurch.

  • Liked — Right in centre of town, and security was good.
  • Disliked — Small vanity in bathroom.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed in their 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights in March 2008, and were impressed. The location couldn’t be bettered – right in the city centre, yet easy to get to and with secure parking in the basement. The entrance may not be grand, but once inside, the accommodation is good. The main living area is very generous in size and well furnished. The kitchen and laundry areas have everything you could possibly need, and essential breakfast supplies are provided. We only used two of the three bedrooms, but both were comfortable, of a decent size and with enough storage space. The third bedroom is smaller, but looked adequate. Both bathrooms were fine, and everything was spotlessly clean. At $351 per night plus $12 for car parking, for such a central location we felt it was good value for 4 people and would have been excellent value for 6. If we were visiting Christchurch again, we would have no hesitation in going back.

Four points to note. First, the penthouse apartment is on two floors and the bedrooms are upstairs with no lift, so be prepared to carry your suitcases up. Second, the bathrooms are on the same floor as the bedrooms but are not strictly en suite, as claimed on their web site. Further, there is only one toilet on this floor (in one of the bathrooms), but there is a second toilet downstairs. Third, there are balconies on both floors, but don’t expect too much of the views! Finally, our comments apply to the penthouse suite. We are not able to say whether the other rooms are equally good.

  • Liked — Location, spaciousness
  • Disliked — Poky entrance
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

This property is great in terms of the location - right in the heart of Cathedral Square. Easy to hop on/off the tram and also to walk to most of the main sights. Found the bed to be extremely uncomfortable however and it was very noisy with the tram starting up at around 7am right outside our room. You also get a lot of noise with doors opening and closing from neighbouring rooms. Not that great if you want a good comfortable and peaceful sleep (especially after arriving off a late night flight). Staff are helpful and there is a free internet service in the reception area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Located right on Cathedral Square in the centre of Christchurch, Quest combined the best bits of hotel living with the homeliness of a real flat. The room was enormous, with a huge open plan kitchen-dining room-lounge and separate bedroom. It included a washing machine and dishwasher in the kitchen and felt like a proper apartment.
The tram also stops just outside the hotel and is a nice way to see the city.

  • Liked — It felt very home-like
  • Disliked — Awkward to access due to security doors.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

After reading all the good reviews on here, we were very disappointed with the Quest! While we couldn't fault the location or the service, the room itself was very ordinary. Perhaps it was because we had stayed in such fantastic accommodation our whole trip, but it seemed that they could definitely do better.

The best way I could describe the room is gray, drab and depressing! The bathroom was very small and awkward, the kitchenette was very sparingly stocked, and the room was very plain. They honestly need add a splash of color, and perhaps update the furnishings. Also, I wouldn't get too excited about the continental breakfast they stock, unless you enjoy kids sugary cereals and white bread for breakfast.

One thing that really drove us crazy was the number of doors we had to unlock to get into our room... I think it was about 3!

The hotel will do the job if you're just passing through Christchurch but if you're there for a few nights, I would look somewhere else. Nothing exactly wrong, but nothing exactly right either.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The very ordinary room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Christchurch

Address: Cathedral Junction 113 Worcester Street | *** currently closed ***, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 137 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quest Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Quest Hotel Christchurch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Christchurch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.