We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Astro Lounge

The Astro Lounge
23 Worcester Boulevard | Cook'n' With Gas Building, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
+(64)3779166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 519 restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $4 - $31
Restaurant details
Hamilton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Fun, casual atmosphere and humorous menu. Saturday night had live entertainment, but not so loud that we couldn't talk. Food was excellent with several gluten free items marked. Four of us ate for $56 without drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    19
    12
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Cheap and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here tonight with my girlfriend. Items on menu all roughly $14. The burger was delicious. The fish was a bit dry. Chips lovely, homemade coleslaw and tartre sauce. The plates could be a bit bigger as the food squashed on it. Staff very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little wacky however food and service excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The décor, would not be too everyone's taste but the food and service is absolutely excellent. it was our only night in Christchurch and was a great experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Astro Lounge, Christchurch - well recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've been to this bar/restaurant twice and both times have been great experiences. It's right opposite the old (now earthquake-damaged Arts Centre), on Worcester Boulevard and a very short distance from Cathedral Square. The food is fresh, very tasty and pretty reasonable. The last time I was there in early November I had the Yoda Smoked Haloumi, with sundried tomatoes, olives, fries and Astroslaw for 14 NZD. It was delicious.This was from the Astro Food Menu.

To accompany it I had the nicest glass of Pinot Gris I have ever tasted and a mouthwatering Chocolate Brownie, with chocolate icecream and raspberry coulis. God that was to die for! The service is very good and the staff are friendly. There's a nice cosy atmosphere there and they have heaters for the smokers or diners who want to sit outside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful"neighborhood bar"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We found this place on our first night in Christchurch. It was casual, friendly, decent food and good drink. As we traveled, with Christchurch as our base, we would visit the Astro lounge. We were always greater warmly and they remembered our favorite drink. The entertainment was unique and the decor funky and interesting. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Astro Lounge also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Astro Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Astro Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.