We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chillingworth Road

Chillingworth Road
478 Cranford Road | Papanui, Christchurch, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 578 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Superb food, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at Chillingworth Road, a large group. What a wonderful dining experience, superb food, well presented and excellent service. We chose the 5 course off the a la carte menu - 14 in our group and they all thoroughly enjoyed their choices. Interesting menu. We have re-booked already. Recommend for couples or large groups. Dining experience a must for fine dining and one of the best meals we have had in Christchurch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    17
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good food, service needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Menu proposition is great. We chose the $70 , 5 course menu.
Food was beautiful, flavours and presentation.
Our french waitress was lovely smiley and knowledgeable but one of the men waiter was clumsy. Our courses arrived, he did not remember who had ordered what, he was obviously nervous and this resulted in passing the plates around twice as they had been given to the wrong person.
Staff could be a bit more polished.
Toilets untidy
Overall good food experience but the overall restaurant experience is not there yet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

we went there for our wedding anniversary, the food was superb.we had the 5 course choose your own.sea food chowder was to die for.hope they dont take it off the menu

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takamatua, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highly rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A foursome, we happened on here on an unusually quiet mid week night. The service was friendly efficient and knowledgeable. We all agreed the food was superb with the only downside being that they use a poor quality olive oil for dipping. A shame given the standard of everything else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food, and lovely wait staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

had the best meal i have ever had here, will not disappoint any one. was welcomed in and taken down the back, really liked how you can see through to the kitchen, made me feel like i was having a meal on the titanic with the decor

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chillingworth Road also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Chillingworth Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chillingworth Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.