We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Styx and Stone

Styx and Stone
1 Radcliffe Road | Belfast, Christchurch, New Zealand
(03) 323 4496
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 583 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The food was average. We had the stone grills. The staff had no idea what the food was when bringing it to our table. The waiter thought he had pork, but it was chicken and then a waitress offered venison but didn't know which venison dish she was offering. There were 2 varieties on the menu and my guests had one of each. Rugby was on the big screen and the volume full blast. Not everyone wants to watch rugby. Have the volume off or turned down at least. We got very little attention from the waiting staff. We wouldn't return in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Waiting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our third visit. The food is always very good, however, there is always a very long wait from when we are seated until we are attended to by a waitress. This is disappointing. Make sure you ask if the meal you order is still available, as we have had to change our first choice on more than one occasion, even though we had booked in several days prior. The atmosphere is very good and we will return. Just make sure, you are not in a hurry, as the restaurant is not.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Four of us went for lunch. Good table settings gave us ample room and not close to other tables. Menu was quite extensive with $10 specials available. Service was good and note made of my wife's allergy. Waiter came back to explain allergy had been overlooked and another meal being prepared..would be another 5 minutes. That was one reason why all meals were not served together. All meals looked good, were well presented and were enjoyable. One meal was a stone grill fillet of pork. A very nice fillet was served wrapped in bacon. A good range of drinks were available.
An after lunch tea and coffee took some time to arrive. Overall a nice meal out and an enjoyable experience. The big test is always " would I go back?" Yes I would.
.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I went there a couple of times during my stay in Christchurch. They were both for lunch so cannot comment for the evening set. They have a good menu selection for lunch and we were served promptly. The atmosphere was modern contemporary and the service was as expected. The food came out pretty quickly and was tasty. Service was average but not great but that didn't bother me. They have a set lunch menu prices so it wasn't expensive. For a quick lunch you cant complain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went here for brunch on Sunday. Food was great - nicely presenting and a generous serving. Good value for money and the service was excellent, as was the coffee. Definately on the list to go back and try the stonegrill meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Styx and Stone also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Styx and Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Styx and Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.