We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick over-night stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Motor Lodge

Amalfi Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amalfi Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Amalfi Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   68 Main South Road, Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quick over-night stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Two-bedroom unit which was of good size and had usual amenities. Unit was clean and ready to occupy. Good off-street parking and handy to shopping places. Double-glazed helped keep noise down. Shower over spa bath with good pressure - elderly person might have difficulty getting in and out of shower due to it being part of bath. Thought it was at top end of price range.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms appear to get better daylight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Warm, quiet and clean. lovely spa bath. very friendly, helpful staff who also arranged free shuttle to casino and offered us vouchers to use, We stayed two nights and left very impressed. Plenty of parking space, not far from major shopping malls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Hopefully this place is much better when the owners are there, it seems so according to other reviews, but I felt unwelcome s and the rooms were very dirty, socks and hair ties on the floor and toe clippings in the bath made me clean before I slept.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NZ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A good place to stay if you are arriving from, or leaving for, the south. Close enough to the airport and to Upper Riccarton/Riccarton for cafes. The rooms are small but comfortable. The TV is on the wall BEHIND the couch!!!

Room Tip: Not much difference really
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Amalfi was great - probably the most comfortable bed we slept in in the south island! They were apparently brand new - score for us. Great location, amenities met our needs, great helpful service, 100mb free internet a day (always a bonus). Only thing to moan about was the jug was a bit crap to use! 2 great nights at this place. We even got an upgrade! Thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay at the Amalfi motor lodge was great .We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful sleep each night. The only down point was that we could of done with an extra pillow as I always have 2 , but NEXT time we stay I will ask for extra pillow and I'm sure it will given with no problems at all. Walked around to Church corner for a meal ,so this motel is so handy to everything .Would recommend this motel to every oneand hope they not booked in when we want to use them again.See you next time .

Room Tip: We found that we didn't hear any road noise at all, unlike a lot of motels in Christchurch. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathalbyn, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved this motel. The rooms are very clean, the bed was super comfy and the linen felt very lush. Enjoyed the spa and the free WiFi
What makes this place stand out is the owners are unbelievably nice and accommodating. Thanks guys for the lift to the train station!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalfi Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Motor Lodge

Address: 68 Main South Road, Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8004, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 142 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalfi Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amalfi Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.