We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chardonnay Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Chardonnay Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   170 Johns Road, Christchurch, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wi Fi
Ranked #47 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We also stayed on our last night in New Zealand. The kitchenette was well equiped, room & bathroom was clean and it is convenient for early airport departures. It's also easy to find coming in to Christchurch from the south along the coast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
16
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mount
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Absolutely top service with hosts going above and beyond to fulfill needs of guest.
Rooms clean , tidy , roomy and all amenities available
Handy enough to supermarkets, pubs and a restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

I stayed at the Chardonnay for 6 nights during a trip to Christchurch from London and I thought it was great. Terry and Louise are the best of hosts - always there to help but not intrusive. The unit I stayed in was large for one person, with french doors opening out to the back garden with great views. Very private if you don't want to be involved with other guests but there is a pleasant barbecue area if you feel like being sociable. It was well-equipped with everything you would need and was immaculate. Plenty of room for parking and close to the airport which was handy. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed at the Chardonnay Motor Lodge on our last day in Christchurch after a very rushed self-drive tour of South Island in 6 days. What a charming place to end our trip! The grounds were so green and beautiful, not too far from the city center. Rooms had a little kitchenette, nicely decorated, & very cozy. Friendly hosts. Would go back there again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chardonnay Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chardonnay Motor Lodge

Address: 170 Johns Road, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chardonnay Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star modern complex set in spacious grounds with award winning gardens. Just 8 minutes from Christchurch Airport and 20 minutes form central city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chardonnay Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chardonnay Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.