We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Strathern Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Strathern Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Strathern Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unpleasant Stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I booked here due to reading the reviews, so I feel I was let down. I found the Shower hadnt been cleaned properly, which ruined totally my weekendbefore it started and the fridge didnt seem to be working properly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
molloyfamily, Owner at Strathern Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
We acknowledge that occasionally small things slip through the system as everyone is human. Our standard of cleanliness is normally exceptionally high and we pride ourselves on this. In this case, as explained to the guest, we had been out of town for a few days at a funeral and not been in a position to check the units and unfortunately our motel minder had not checked the units. There were a couple of hairs left in the shower, which if the guest had pointed this out at the time, we certainly would have rectified. Our fridges are turned off and cleaned at each departure and in this case our cleaner forgot to turn it back on. Again, instead of waiting and complaining at the end we could have gone in and turned it on for her. The issues with this unit were discussed with the cleaner and she was given a verbal warning as we take every complaint very seriously. We apologised to the guest on departure but there is not much you can do after the fact. The situation regarding the cleaning will certainly not be repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Owners are so friendly and helpful, directed us to all the great places to dine and sightsee nothing was too much to ask. Services all conveniently located on site. Transport just out on the sidewalk, so handy to all amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here after the earthquake and we needed a place to stay temporarily while we waited for our house to be inspected. Really accomodating hosts, very understanding and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms we stayed in were clean and serviced daily, location close to town and what's great it's pet friendly. Good place o stay!, recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

The no refund policy will also apply to anyone not happy with the service or quality of the stay.The location being situated right next door to student accomodation can make for a very loud stay, if you like the sound of the walls bouncing base then perfect for you. Reception is not available after 10.30pm so any problems are yours for the night and once approach regarding any issues the staff may be quite unhelpfull. Oh well we stuck here for 3 more days now :-(

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed here with my family in July and found it to be perfect for a family, the units are quite large and although a bit dated everything was clean and comfortable. The owners are really friendly they even got our washing in one day when it started to rain! The first thai restaurant just down the road (the blue one) is also great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

If you are looking at a comfortable, clean motel that has every thing you need then you should definately pick the Strathern Lodge Motel.
My family, friends and I (4 Units) stayed at this motel when we where in town for the funeral of our mother. The owners were so accommodating and caring and nothing was to much trouble.
The decor and the paintings on the wall all blended in perfectly and I thought all the features were tasteful, modern and inviting.
I felt at home with the feel of the units and the hospitality shown and will definately stay at this motel again when next down in Christchurch.
Thanks guys for making us feel welcome and we will definately recommend you to anyone travelling your way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

The Strathern Motel has provided peace of mind and great value during several visits over the last ten years. Even though ownership changed - the location, service, price and environment have always been excellent. My grown children have visited Christchurh on their own and stayed at the Strathern. I've stayed there by myself. Last July my wife, the younger children and I enjoyed eleven days there. One can walk into the heart of Christchurch from Strather's location on Papanui Road (20 min walk); or walk about five blocks to Merrivale Center for suburban shopping. Of course, one can catch the bus or hire a taxi to get around very readily too. We especially enjoyed the option of cooking light meals in our two-bedroom unit (four-burner stove with oven, microwave, pots/pans, pantry, small refrigerator) -- and we saved a small fortune by doing so. Indeed, we were able to visit the butcher shop and grocery store in Merrivale (walked there and back to Strathern with limited items) as necessary. Fabulous exercise for the whole family - much needed for the parents! Washer and dryer facilities on the premises. Newspaper every morning at our door! We also saved a small fortune by residing just outside Christchurch. All-in-all, an immersion in Christchurch suburban living - just a short walk away from city center. WiFi available too!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strathern Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathern Motor Lodge

Address: 54 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathern Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Lauraine & Craig take great pride in providing a high standard of comfort and cleanliness and invite you to stay at their Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation in their luxurious, fully self-contained studio, one and two bedroom apartments. Their top quality Christchurch Motor Lodge accommodation is quiet, warm and features extremely comfortable Queen, King or superking beds. Our central location enables guests to walk to parks,golf courses, restaurants , supermarkets and the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Strathern Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strathern Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.