We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Eggs Benny in NZ!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 111 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best Eggs Benny in NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ann and Harold are welcoming hosts who are so kind and care about the comfort of their guests. I had been travelling in NZ for 3 weeks and Christchurch was my final destination before heading home. My room was comfortable and spacious. Ann and Harold offered helpful information for my stay in Christchurch. On my final morning Ann got up at 5am to see me on my way. The 2 breakfast's I experienced were delicious, especially the eggs benedict with smoked salmon and spinach - the best in NZ. I would definitely stay at Eliza's Manor again. Thank you Ann and Harold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    26
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
188
21
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked Elizas for a function and stayed 2 nights as well. The room was fantastic and very comfortable. Many of our guests commented on the excellent food. The best thing about Elizas is the hospitality shown by Ann and Harold who worked tirelessly to ensure that everything ran smoothly. No request was too much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When my regular Bed'n'Breakfast fell through, I was delighted to be able to stay at Eliza's Manor. The proprietor, Ann, was very friendly and even the "Servant's Quarters" (much more than it sounds!) was a nice, big and well-appointed room. Quiet too. Loved the breakfast - more choice than some other B&B's around the city, and the complimentary snacks in-room are a great touch. I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was booked for us as part of a package with Paradise motorcycle tours. It exceeded our expectations both with regard to the standard of the accommodation, the warmth of the welcome and what must be the best breakfast in New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a fantastic start to our visit to the South Island. Before we arrived, Ann had arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport. The driver was waiting as we passed through security with our names on a small whiteboard. This took all of the hassle of the journey away from us. On arrival at Eliza's, Ann greeted us personally and made us feel welcome, valued and completely at home.

The decor throughout Eliza's is outstanding and well worth a visit in itself. The rooms are spacious and are decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The breakfasts were simply as good as it gets. The hospitality and attention to detail was second to none.

We stayed three nights and would have enjoyed three weeks. Ann and Harold went the extra mile on several occasions - for example, in giving us tea and coffee when we were skyping our family from their attractive garden, and in their flexibility in providing a full early breakfast before a long day trip.

We'll definitely be returning to Eliza's when we are next in New Zealand. This was outstanding quality and hospitality. Thanks so very much Ann and Harold for our excellent stay with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We loved our night here (during January) - during a long tour of NZ, it made such a change to see real decor instead of the bland white/cream focus of most motels and B&Bs. The entrance hall and staircase is wonderful, as was our room + modern bathroom. All really comfortable. Breakfast excellent and Ann was very helpful with our future travel plans. Just a few minutes walk to a number of restaurants which was helpful, given that so much is still closed as a result of the earthquakes. And fascinating to learn the history of Eliza's and how it is was impacted and then improved to withstand future earthquakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed a night a Eliza's and from the moment we arrived we felt like we were staying with family. Ann was very helpful and took the time to explain the "must see's" on the way to our next destination. Breakfast was yummy and the property has a nice homely feel to it. The room was spacious and the bed was the most comfortable of our entire trip. Nothing was too much trouble. I would defineatly stay here again. Thanks for making us feel so welcome Ann.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 82 Bealey Avenue | Central City, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand (Formerly Eliza's Manor on Bealey)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in a central city location. Christchurch is the gateway city for the South Island of New Zealand. Combining historic ambience with comfortable and modern facilities, Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel has eight guest rooms all with ensuite bathrooms. Relax in the Garden Room or private Courtyard and have a drink in the fully licensed bar. A full cooked breakfast for two is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.