We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Towers Are Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towers on the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Towers on the Park to your Saves list
Towers on the Park
4.5 of 5 Inn   |   Cnr Deans Ave & Kilmarnock St, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Zillah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Towers Are Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Those visiting Christchurch must understand that the downtown area was devastated in the February 2011 earthquake, so typical downtown hotel rooms are few and far between. We stayed at the Towers on the Park as an alternative. It is literally right across the street from the central park downtown. The rooms are spacious, clean and highly functional. We had a king bed room with a spa (you have to pay extra but it's worth it after driving all day on narrow winding roads!). There is no restaurant in the motel, nor a breakfast service. Because it IS right across from the park, one of the biggest roads in the down town area runs directly behind the motel, creating a far amount of road noise. However, the layout of the motel is such that you still have a sense of privacy.

Room Tip: The spa rooms have large jetted tubs easily big enough for two persons! Also, don't arrive in Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
33
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

There is plenty to do and see all within walking distance of this motel. Walk across Hagley park to Christchurch city centre or walk to Riccarton Rd where there is countless Pubs, restaurants, takeaways and a big Westfield shopping centre. Free wifi, large clean comfortable rooms make for an enjoyable stay. The only downside is that it is on a busy intersection and there was a bit of traffic noise but I didn't find it to bad.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I lived in the TotP for 5 months from July to November 2012 doing EQ service in Christchurch. Matt and his team are outstanding and are my first choice for any return trip.

Although a 'Motel', I have had better service there than in many Hotels

Great service and help, lovely clean and tidy rooms, no request too much trouble.

Needs Sky TV though!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you are staying any length of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My partner and I were in town for a wedding that started at 1pm and we flew in earlier in the morning. Knowing that we might get there before the usual advertised check in of 2pm I rang a few days earlier and the polite lady on the phone told me that while they can’t guarantee anything, definitely come anyway and they will try to help.

When we arrived around 10am, it turned out to be a completed different story. The lady at the reception was “professional” but as unhelpful as you can get. We were told that there would be no rooms available early and check in would strictly be 2pm. We didn’t really need to check in early but only needed a place to get ready for the wedding. We asked if there was any public facility or maybe we can use one of the empty suites just to get ready, but she was not interested in helping and simply rejected any of our ideas. The only help offered was to store our bags. Luckily the hotel across the road was nice to offer us their public facilities to use.
While I fully understand that almost everyone advertise a 2pm check in time, I have stayed at many motels across the country that was more than happy to help out and check people in early. Most people check out well before 10am and when we got there before 10, the cleaners were already doing the rounds. I find it really hard to believe that it would take them 4 hours to clean a room and none would be ready early. If the motel wanted to help, they could, but they simply didn’t want to. That was my biggest gripe.

The motel itself was ok, clean and relatively tidy. The other problems we had with the motel were:
1. Big crack on the toilet (still usable), but long due for repair;
2. Sink was quite old and also cracked and discoloured;
3. Our studio had no kitchenette facilities, but we did get plates, cutleries and a small dining table along with dishwashing equipment (what for? Are we supposed to wash our dishes in the bathroom sink? Not quite hygienic if you ask me). So the facilities were more like a hotel, instead of a motel. However unlike a hotel, there are no other public facilities (foyer, 24hr reception, toilets, gym etc). To us they try to be a bit of everything, but then lacks at the benefits of either.
4. The front desk didn’t even offer milk like any motel would and we had to specifically go back and ask for it, not impressed. Another couple checking in while I was at the counter was also not offered milk.

Overall as a regular overnight stay there is probably not much wrong with towers on the park. However if you may require a little bit of flexibility with your travels, just because things happen when we travel, then don’t expect much from this place. For similar prices, there are many other motels close by that offers full motel facilities.

Room Tip: Watch out for the rooms right behind the disabled access facilities, those rooms get no sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Customer service was very good. Had a good weekend away. The room was nice however would have been better if we had a decent view (Not one of the guest laundry) Nevertheless, the staff were helpful and efficient. The Towers was very central and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room looking in to Laundry wasn't the greatest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Across the road from the beautiful Hagley Park. Walking distance to the city and close to great restaurants. 5 minute drive to Riccaton Westfield Shopping Centre.

The rooms are clean but quite dated. Our curtains were so worn in some areas that the light came through in the morning. It didn't stop me from sleeping in though!

On the plus side it is a fantastic location. And free wifi also.

The heater worked so well we could sleep without the blanket and it had a heated towel rail for lovely warm towels after a shower.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at The Towers for two nights over a weekend, we chose the towers because it was a "quality hotel" and the price for a room with a spa bath was very reasonable. We arrived at the accommodation at 3:00am to find a letter on the reception door with my name on it telling me where to go, we were so pleasantly surprised when walking into the room to find a large spacious suite and the reception staff had turned our heating on for us. The room was a little bit loud from the traffic outside but that is to be expected when staying anywhere in the city centre. The bed was firm but very large and comfortable. Even though we didn’t arrive until 3:00am the staff did not bother us in the morning. The location is great, the riccarton market is just around the corner and hagley park across the road. The Spa Bath is very large and luxurious. I only have two small complaints, there is no Sky TV and there was no milk in our fridge. We had a very comfortable stay and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Towers on the Park, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. The team at the Towers pride themselves on delivering clean, comfortable accommodation at a good price so we are delighted you agree. I apologise that you had no milk in your room, this was an error on our part obviously. I am glad that you had a great stay and we thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towers on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers on the Park

Address: Cnr Deans Ave & Kilmarnock St, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Towers on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Towers on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towers on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.