We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Menteith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Menteith House
Save
You added Menteith House to your Saves list
15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 114 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Faye and Stephen in Christchurch for 2 nights on our 2 week tour of New Zealand. They were very accomadating and the room large and spotless. We enjoyed our breakfasts and happy hours with them and felt very much at home with them. You can tell how much they enjoy what they do. We had the honor of being their last guests as they are retiring and selling their home. We will cherish the memories from our visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grahammenteith, Owner at Menteith House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
It has been a pleasure to be listed on Tripadvisor for the last 5 years. Our lives have moved in a different direction and we have sold our business in Springs Road and moved to a delightful property in 'The Elms on Prebbleton'.

Tourism and welcoming visitors to our lovely country is in our veins and our new home can offer just this. 15 Elmwood Drive, Prebbleton is our new address and we would warmly welcome both past guests and future guests to share our great location.

Grateful thanks to all our reviewers who have expressed their pleasure in stating with us in the past.

Fay and Stephen Graham (Your hosts)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Believe everything you read from all other reviewers - this place is superb. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean accommodation, very hospitable hosts, generous evening drinks and always some interesting conversation. Breakfasts, too, are something special. Both Fay and Stephen were extremely helpful in assisting us with our route planning over to the West Coast and down to the Sounds (overnighting in Franz Josef - Wanaka - Te Anau, missing out Queenstown). Over and above this very friendly style, everything was also very professional, attesting to their many years' experience in the hospitality industry.
We had dinner locally at The Bridge (just up the road) and the Famous Grouse (in Lincoln) - the latter being the better of the two, although both fairly run-of-the-mill. For a good day trip, make sure you go to Akaroa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the most enjoyable experience. Beautiful, spacious, very clean house with covered pool. Garden, country air. Hosts were very kind and PM guest hour with wine was most relaxing. Best memories.

Room Tip: All rooms seems great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed with Fay & Stephen for 3 nights in January 2012. They were excellent hosts, making us feel so welcome in their lovely home. The accommodation was of high quality and the breakfasts were superb. We really enjoyed their company and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to spend time in Christchurch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 4 of our 14 nights in New Zealand in beautiful Menteith Country House and both of us just loved it there. We felt most spoilt by the generosity and attention to detail extended to usby hosts Fay and Stephen. Thank you both for making us feel so much at home and for the enjoyment of our conversations with you, we feel we have known you for much longer than just 4 days. We will definitely be recommending your gorgeous home to our friends and we sincerely hope that that we wiL be able to stay with you when we make our second holiday inNew Zealand". We wish you all the best for the coming festive season and the New Year.

Maree and John

Room Tip: Both ther king ensuiter rooms are spacious d thre beds really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Faye & Steven know how to make guests feel welcome. My boyfriend & I adored this picturesque B&B. Throughout our one night stay, Faye offered tea & cookies, a glass of wine while watching the rugby world cup, and prepared the indoor hot tub for a quick dip before bed. Beautiful & immaculate. You will feel as though you are visiting an accommodating relative.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Menteith Country House far surpassed my expectations. My time there was very peaceful and although in the country is just 20 minutes from Christchurch Airport. Hosts Fay and Stephen provide beautifully designed accomodation where every window captures a view. They maintain immaculate standards throughout. It is easy to see that hospitality and guest comfort is their gifting and a priority. I have stayed in many hotels but this will remain as my favourte experience.

Room Tip: All rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Menteith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menteith House

Address: 15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menteith House is a quality bed and breakfast in 'The Elms on Prebbleton' only 15 minutes from airport/city.Being at the end of a lane we enjoy tranquility and great views of mountains and Port Hills from our upstairs guest rooms and lounge. Savour the flavors of the family’s specialty honeys with your hearty breakfast. Fay is an avid spinner of differing fibers - try your hand! Our Port Hills queen bed collects the morning sun while Copland has a garden and mountain outlook with flexible king/twin beds. Both rooms are served by a spacious private bathroom. Join us for 'happy hour' on our sunny deck outside the lounge. Good local restaurants within walking distance. Bus stop a short walk from Menteith. Our friendly cat 'Whisky' comes and goes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Menteith House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.